Bushwalking at Drawing Room Rocks

in #exploring5 years ago (edited)

Having left my city life behind along with my gym membership I’ve been wondering how I might get back into shape now that we’ve started settling in to country life. It was a beautiful Autumn day today and the wife and kids were away so it seemed as good a time as any to get off my backside and check out one of the local bushwalks. First up was a bushwalk I’d heard some of the locals recommending – Drawing Room Rocks.

DrawingRoomRocks.JPG

I did a bit of bushwalking as a kid but it’s been a while and I’ve never gone solo. I’m terribly out of shape, but how hard could it be? I’d heard it was about a 45 minute walk to the top but as I got out of the car and started on my way I was confronted with this sign.

Sign.JPG

Ok…so 3 hours seems a bit daunting. Medium fitness? Nope. First Aid kit? Nope. Map and GPS? Ummm….does an iphone count? Sure. Stout footwear? Err…sneakers are ok right? Yeh whatever. She’ll be right mate, it can't be that hard - So off I went. It was plenty steep enough, lots of stepping over and up rocks and undergrowth. I needed to take a few breathers on the way up (actually it was a lot) but it was a pretty good track and I bumped into a few (much younger) bushwalkers along the way. As I got near the top it was like crouch walking through a tunnel of scrub but when I finally got to the top it was all worth it.

map.PNG
Source

Here’s a map which shows where the Drawing Room Rocks are. You can see why they are named that in the top photo, but since the views were so impressive I’ve drawn some red lines on the map to show you the directions of the below shots.

Gerroa.JPG
1. Gerroa and Broughton Vale

Looking East-South-East you can see the small village of Gerroa in the distance and the top portion of 7 mile beach. In the foreground is Broughton Vale with plenty of lush green and on the left is part of the Broughton Escarpment.

ShoalhavenHeads.JPG
2. Berry and Shoalhaven Heads

Looking Southward you can see the small village of Berry on the right with Coolangatta Mountain just behind it to the left. You can also see Shoalhaven Heads and even Jervis Bay behind that in the distance, I was lucky it was such a clear and fine day.

KangarooValley.JPG
3. Wattamolla and Kangaroo Valley

Turning Westward you can see behind Broughton Head toward Wattamolla and Kangaroo Valley. The road gets a bit windy in that direction but if you’re looking to get further out this is great country. The valley is sheltered on all sides with a lot of wildlife.


It did take me about 45 minutes to get to the top, even with a few stops. It took me only 20 minutes to get back down. My quads were sore on the way up and the old knees took a hammering on the way down, but it was a very rewarding walk. Got my heart-rate up and didn’t have any incidents so I called that a win and headed off to Kangaroo Valley pub for lunch. There’s a lot of bushwalks out that way I might give a try next time.


TeamAust_buggedout.png

Sort:  

Its pretty great to get out amongst it and realise you're still capable, right?
I really enjoyed my recent bush walks out camping. There are a couple of tracks much closer to home, but they're a little more confronting.
The weather's mild enough now, and Henry rode his bike all the way home from school today, for the first time, so he's hopefully in that sweet spot, where he's not too little to keep up and not yet a hulking teenager who leaves me behind :)

Absolutely it was a bit of a confidence booster. You might have even inspired me a little bit with your recent post. It's actually a good time of year for bushwalking with still half-decent weather and not so many snakes about.

I know what you mean about the sweet spot. My girls are still a bit little but I want to get a head start and I've got a few friends who would visit and go on the walk with me....though I'm not sure I'd hold up too well against their teenagers.

We have to make sure we don't get old in the head before we're old in the body :)

Those views look exactly like the brecon beacons not too far from me. I'd hate to live in a place where I couldn't see green.

Very lucky to have these places on your doorstep buddy, I'm looking forward to coming to stay even more now 😜

More importantly, what did you have for lunch?

Yes I find the whole inner city living (surrounded by concrete) to be quite depressing. Let me know when you've booked your flight. I was actually very close to flying over for the world cup next month so you may yet get a surprise visit from me first ;)

Lunch was chicken parma and a beer. Bit of a go-to for me when I feel I've earned it. I don't have a sophisticated palette. Food doesn't need to be fancy, nor expensive to be good in my book :)

If you do ever find yourself over this way, I'll book some time off work and show you around, about a day should do it!! We don't have a lot to offer....

I am quite sure that we'd need at least 3 days just to have a good look at the insides of your local pub ;)

Looks like you've found a really nice place to call home. The view from the top looks amazing mate! Nice spot to catch your breath and enjoy some fresh air.

Hope you're not too sore tomorrow ;)

Thanks mate. Not too sore today. Though I usually found it was 2 days after exertion that hurt the worst so I won't speak too soon :)

Disregarding warning signs. An anarchist at heart (;

Pigeon house mountain is a great short walk with awesome views. If you are lucky sometimes you can walk through the clouds and the peak is above them. I think a bit south from that walk you did.

Might have to work up some fitness to do that one. There certainly is a lot of bushwalking trails in these parts.

And this is near where you live now?!!! I love the area from say the Southern Highlands to Fitzroy Falls, Through Kangaroo Valley down to Kiama.

We did that drive from Canberra not our last visit back to Aus, but the one before. Went with the whole fam and rented a house right on the ocean.

So beautiful.

And pretty brave of you to go in your bushwalk despite the sign! I would have seen that, gotten back in the car and driven straight to town for lunch instead. 😂

Yes it's a great part of the world. Have traveled a bit but still hard pressed to name a place with as much unspoiled natural beauty and abundance.

You could say it was brave....though reckless and foolhardy might be better descriptors. I'll be better prepared next time ;)

Glad you survived the walk despite the dire warnings 🤣 looks like a nice one 🙃

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @ryivhnn I'm glad I survived too. If not I might have been up for a Darwin award nomination :p

Awesome views and a great effort getting out bushwalking 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest 519.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thanks! Really appreciate the extra exposure. Love what you guys are doing.

I'm glad you survived all the dangers and lack of things you were carrying. And that you didn't get bitten by a brown snake or something either. Well done. Looks like a cool place for views.

Thanks. Funnily enough I found a baby black snake in my basement the same day. Just goes to show you need to be alert no matter where you are :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=buggedout
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=bushwalking-at-drawing-room-rocks


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32