You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fair Wages, or Why Steemit Isn't Right for Cultural Institutions...Yet.

in #explore19186 years ago

Thanks to you all for your comments! Thank you @remlaps and @hansikhouse for reading our posts. Thank you @kenfinkel for getting us in a position to have this conversation. I have a lot I want to respond to, because I think you all make some excellent points.

First I want to start off with where I'm coming from to this conversation. I've been looking around at how public history projects get funded and not loving what I see. I've been looking at how those same organizations pay the people on their front lines and not loving that easier. So when I say that Steemit is not a panacea, I do so because part of me was hoping it was.

You're all right that we did earn money, and that's great.

Many of you have essentially made the same point, that Steem is a young currency and Steemit is a young platform. Perhaps if given a longer timeframe, it could offer better returns. Perhaps there would be a community here that was interested in history. I hope that happens.

I think one of my fears here is that the pitch seems to be "money for nothing," when it actually requires a lot of labor. Since many of these organizations use unpaid or underpaid interns, it seems like a compounding concern.

At one point we talked in class about the possibility of Steemit tokens being added to other platforms. That assuages many of my concerns because it wouldn't require essentially copy-pasting (and setting off the plagiarism bots) or writing copy twice (which is really not easy).

Thank you folks for thoughtfully engaging with my work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53