You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speaking Out: A Century of Activism in the Music Industry

in #explore19187 years ago

I admire your willingness to try a leap from past to present. But was it really true that "the owner of the Dunbar was a millionaire radical"?

From a very reliable source: "But the theater soon floundered. Brown had a hard time finding and booking 'first class' entertainments and a surprisingly difficult time getting black Philadelphians to patronize the theater. In 1921, the partners were forced to sell their theater to John T. Gibson, who a year later reopened it as Gibson's Theatre."

Sort:  

Thanks for the check on my terminology, Ken. I would argue that during 1918, he was. I don't think booking issues were denting his pocket book over a year before the opening, but I'd have to look into the financial records of Dunbar Amusements to be totally sure! I more so wanted to highlight how involved this man is in local politics and social issues, and how far, far removed the Recording Academy is by comparison.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33