You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stars and Bricks in Philadelphia

in #explore19186 years ago

I had always wondered what those stars were about but I'd never thought to look them up! Though I think I have seen them in other cities on structures that aren't row homes. This makes me wonder if they have taken on a decorative meaning that other places want imitate even without the structural necessity.

Sort:  

Yea, me neither! I just assumed they were decorative pieces. Like, decorative and common in the 18th century, so obviously replicated during the Society Hill renovations in the 1960s/70s. This was cool to read!

Also, I'm curious to know if old brick from demolished city buildings is salvaged like barn wood on the outskirts of town? Do either of you happen to have any architectural knowledge about that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67546.21
ETH 3785.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56