You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Limitations of Free Speech in Wartime: The Philadelphia Tageblatt Trial

in #explore19187 years ago (edited)

This is such an interesting post! I've never read about Philadelphia's German American population before, so I appreciate this as an introduction of sorts. I also thought this seemed timely, given the recent release of the film, "The Post," which also addresses suppression of printed speech during wartime. Though the situations between Philadelphia's Tageblatt and the Pentagon Papers differed, this struck me as a fascinating precedent to the events that took place in the 1970s. Great work!

Sort:  

Thanks, Derek! I wasn't thinking about the 1970s when I wrote the post, but I think you're right that it's a great parallel. The exercise of free speech has taken quite a pummeling- and looks like it will continue to for the foreseeable future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.02
ETH 2483.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37