You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Human Value and Immigration: Exemptions from the Immigration Act of 1917

in #explore19187 years ago

Good piece. I agree with you that an immigrant's eligibility to stay in America shouldn't be judged only through the lens of professional accomplishments and skills. However, as a legal immigrant to this great country and I can say that it is not all that quick and easy to get permanent residency even though you are highly educated, qualified and working in a "skilled" profession. On top of the legal immigration process being so slow, having to prove that you are "skilled" or worthy enough of to gain approval of the current immigration system is quite taxing and affects our daily lives. Needless to say I have had my share of frustrations with this slow moving system. A good merit based system would be a boon to someone like me, but I am not sure when that is going to happen.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your experience. You're right that the larger immigration process has plenty of problems, including its length and unnecessary complexity. I hope that the process can be improved and streamlined in the future, but I also can't see that happening any time soon.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30