You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Speaking Out: A Century of Activism in the Music Industry

in #explore19187 years ago

Great post!! It's also interesting to note this within the larger conversation about awards ceremonies, like the recent Golden Globes which tried to be more political, but was then criticized for either being too performative (everyone wearing black, including the men, who... were already going to be wearing black) or too lopsided (with the women who won giving powerful speeches about consent and harassment and the men just... not doing that).

But as you imply, none of that really matters if you're not rewarding and celebrating artists who are not men, who are people of color, who are successfully creating art without the benefits of a racist and sexist music or movie industry...

(And on a completely unrelated note: have you seen the cover of 24K Magic made with carrots?)

Sort:  

Right! These awards ceremonies need to practice what they preach. I didn't watch the Golden Globes, but I will (as always) watch the Oscars, and I'll look out for the discrepancies you mentioned in the men's vs women's speeches.

(And yes, you've shown it to me before, and I've been spreading the word ever since lol).

I'm sorry, I just really like that guy! :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55