Exploring

in #explore6 years ago

Oh do we have a treat for you explorers out there.

Inside brinksway deep level air raid shelters:

Inside brinksway deep level air raid shelters:

Good afternoon everybody, if you are reading this in the U.K. I hope you have all enjoyed and made the most of what was a gloriously sunny bank holiday weekend. Or like me was stuck in work for the majority of what may just have been the height of our summer. I should really get myself a laptop and work from home so I can be free to enjoy our brief sunny moments, oh the dream.

But on to why I'm here,
I have recently become aware of some abandoned air raid shelters from the Second World War running under my housing estate in Stockport, Manchester, and potentially running right under my house. And on further research i have found that there are three shelters in Stockport in total, starting construction in 1938, and the last of the tunnel network completed in 1941. Seven feet high and carved out of the soft sandstone. They are the largest underground shelters in the UK, made to protect the residents of Stockport from the Luftwaffe and their bombs during the second world war. Chestergate shelter in Stockport town centre has been open to the public since 1989, yet barely half a mile away are Dodge Hill deep level shelter and the one I plan on visiting known as Brinksway deep level shelter. largely forgotten to all, except the explorer and those who remember the nights spent curled up on the bunks listening to the pounding of the bombs overhead. Though Stockport was only hit once on Christmas Eve in 1944 by a German V1 flying bomb killing one resident, Manchester went through the terrifying Manchester blitz starting on December 22 and ending once again on Christmas Eve in 1940 killing upwards of 800 people in two days of pure hell.

Stockport 1944 bombing:


Aftermath of the German V1 bomb. Stockport, Garners Lane, Adswood, on Christmas Eve 1944.

I have already visited the Chestergate air raid shelters in Stockport town centre that is open to tourists, which was a very interesting visit, trying to feel what it was really like to be down in what would have been a rather scary situation to be in, wondering if your house is still standing or friends and family are safe.
My only criticism of chestergate shelters is all the health and safety signs glowing and information boards that take away the real feeling of these eary tunnels. But don't get me wrong, I understand those are vital for safety reasons and informative for us to learn the history.


Original entrance to chestergate air raid shelters.


Chestergate entrance today.

Map layouts of Chestergate air raid shelter:

Back onto Brinksway deep level air raid shelters, I will be documenting my visit in the next couple of days with pictures, videos and descriptions. so stay tuned to see what we find. I went out late last night to scope out the area and to see if it was really possible to get in. Luckily I found the entrance, a small man hole cover easily accessible. unluckily it is based in a compound of what sounds like something to do with high voltage electricity systems. But there is a small and easy climb to get in so hopefully all will be successful.

Map layout of brinksway deep level air raid shelters:

Original entrances to brinksway shelters now bricked up to be forgotten:

So to finish, I am rather excited to get down there to document what we find.
And please, if anyone has anymore information on these tunnel networks please leave a comment. I would love to learn more about what is literary under my feet as I'm writing this in my living room at home.

Many thanks,
Marksface.

Sort:  

Very interesting and well done post! Cheers

Thank you, I'm new to writing blogs or anything of that manner. I'll be doing a follow up post on this subject.

Exploring old abandoned stuff is some cool shit! We got a decommissioned army base nearby with barracks dating all the way back to the 50’s. It’s pretty knarly exploring there but haven’t been able to go for a few years due to having a kid. Hopefully I’ll get to go back someday and do a post about them.

That sounds sick mate! I'd love to explore an army base. I'll have to keep an eye out for some on my next adventure. My friends and I are heading down to the air raid shelters in the next hour. So Wish is luck :)

Awe man that’s tight! Doing stuff like that is really addicting. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52