Explain This Mr Scientist - Reiki

in #explainthismrscientist8 years ago (edited)

My Contention Is - Science Cannot And Will Never To Be Able To Explain This Phenomena.

So i embarked on my first Reiki session. I was cynical - especially when the practioner carried out a sort of weird mime dance at the beginning - i think to disperse the bad energy. It took some effort for me to refrain from laughing.

The practioner (Judy) put on some predictable 'new age' pipe music - she laid her hands on my head and didn't move them for what seemed like an eternity (actually about 5 minutes). I was beginning to feel quite relaxed, i had a vision of a slate surface in front of me, which gradually expanded to fill the horizon, and all around me. To me this suggested a blank slate, an open mind, the beginning of a new era (off topic but fascinating nonetheless)

handson

Judy moved her hands down to my neck , then on to my shoulders. Then something quite amazing happened.

Judy moved her hands to the top of my right arm and her hands were actually hot!

It was as if she had just taken them off of a radiator.

I felt like the sun was coming out and shining inside of my body, I imaged the sun shining from under the surface of my skin - nourishing my muscles, tendons and bones. Behind the sun was a bright blue sky, the warmth of the sun was encouraging the growth of my good cells and at the same time destroying the bad. (off topic but fascinating nonetheless)

enter image description here

Judy then worked her way down my right side to my feet, the heat of her hands diminished after they left the tops of my arms,

but when she worked back up to the top of my left arm they were hot again.

When Judy announced she was done i opened my eyes and had a huge beaming smile on my face. I felt fantastic. The experience was profoundly beautiful. Afterwards i felt tranquil and happy. (off topic but fascinating)

When I asked her how come her hands were so hot she told me that it's because the hands heat up most where the reiki is needed most. Like - Reiki goes where Reiki knows! (on topic!)

Now explain this Mr scientist (or Mrs). How do you explain how her hands got so hot?

My contention is - science cannot and will never to be able to explain this phenomena.

What's your # explainthismrscientist scenario?

Sort:  

Never say never.

I never thought so...that's a relief anyway.

You are dealing with energy. Matter is a form of energy. Soon enough an explanation and model of this phenomena will present itself. The universe has laws, even if we don't fully comprehend them yet. So this phenomena would fit within these laws.

Someday science will figure out. But there really is no need.

I agree there is no need for science to explain how it happens. But having been schooled in science i automatically feel the need for a rational explanation out of pure interest. I wonder what is the physiological process generating the exceptionional body heat - But i do not need to know the answers to accept that Reiki had a remarkable therapeutic effect on me.

Read this book, put on your xmas wishlist.

It is one of a few books I will say truly changed my perspective on life and science.

Stranger in a Strange Land is a 1961 science fiction novel by American author Robert A. Heinlein.

It really touches the topic and regardless of it's stellar story line the concept is remarkable.

Thanks for the recommendation @solarguy. Xmas is coming ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74