You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Experiment with Melatonin - The Good and the Bad [n=1]

in #experiment7 years ago

I sometimes use melatonine in a pretty large dosis, 5mg, but time released. In my subjective experience it helps me sleep deeper, and have more vivid or even lucid dreams. I don't do it very often, only when I feel my mind has been on overdrive for too long a time (and then I sometimes I even take two time-released pills approx 2 hours apart from each other). I also sometimes take a lesser dossage (about 1mg) without going to sleep but just to relax the mind (sort of like a good haze (weed)). I am not gonna dig up reports but I believe there has been done quite a bit of research on the effects of melatonine (perhaps in combination with taurine, glycine and GABA) to ease the minds of those that 'suffer' from information processing anomalities (like add and the likes). On the other hand, melatonine is also produced by your body when you eat a good chunk of cheese.

peace,

-k

Sort:  

have you experimented with GABA supplements in isolation - that is - without other supplements to really know if its effective? from what I know, GABA supplementation may not lead to good bio-availability due to the interference of the brain blood barrier...

No I have not. I have never used a GABA supplement, not sure if it is even available over the counter over here

I also try to stay a bit on the cautious side of suplements and try to read up before I out stuff into my body. I had some 'bad' experiences with supplements and their side effects.

can you elaborate please?

(these are my subjective experiences) Examples: taken large doses of iron (with natural vitamin c from orange or lemon juice) makes me very jumpy to the point of becoming anxious, it also upsets my bowels alot (which is a known side effect). Most ginseng and guarana supplements I have tried give me a lot of enery but also make me very moody (perhaps because of too much energy). Also most multivitamin supplements make me nauseous. Also for some supplements (for example ginko biloba) you should take caution if you also take some sort of medication (even asperin) for they might produce nasty side effects when taken in combo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66512.58
ETH 3313.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68