You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Updated thoughts on 'the whale experiment'

in #experiment7 years ago (edited)

The outcome seems to be on the right track if you're okay with the path being littered with the broken trust that @smooth and @abit generated. I guess us 'emotional' types are just pesky obstacles to be swept out of the way. Accumulation is the name of the game. Got it.

Thanks for the clarification.

Oh, and btw, I was never personally affected by any of the flagging / up or downvoting. What I saw was a couple whales throwing their weight around regardless of the damage to the TRUST of users by the ambush style deployment and total disregard for the people they were hurting in the process. Silly me to take take mere feelings into consideration when there's money and code at stake.

Eyes wide open and gloating in my new-found power.

Woo.

Hoo.

Edited to correct typo

Sort:  

You are exactly right, what many people forget about is the social aspect of this "social network" called steemit. You cant employ bots to vote up or down and expect the social aspect to flourish with such a cold foolish method. If everyone could just employ bots to protect their interest then we would have no reason to ever logon.

The irony is that I landed here via a link on Twitter. Sigh.....

The human factor was not handled correctly. That part I totally agree with.

And there's nothing to say it won't happen again the next time a whale or two decide to lob dynamite into the pond for whatever reason.

Hence my trepidation.

Yep, very true. As I said in my post, I would like to get to a permanent solution where what you described is largely mitigated.

Honestly, good luck with that. I don't think that aspect is high on the fix it list for most devs, though. I sincerely hope you can figure it out because I've come to like it here. I'd prefer not to have to worry about 'incoming....!!!' every other week to do it.

Agreed. Discussions are in progress :) We'll see where they lead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69