The Whale Experiment - Are you for or against it? Show your support/opposition with these banner images!

in #experiment7 years ago (edited)

If you would like to express your stance for/against the whale "no voting" experiment, feel free to use these banner images in your posts/comments!

Use this image to show your opposition to the experiment:
https://steemitimages.com/DQmZ3nojuLxWkJhPhuM9aqL88PFzmmem1NSJJCKpTRLKyeQ/image.png

Use this image to show your support for the experiment:
https://steemitimages.com/DQmVGNbyF3fnPpDuoGLML2AqYnnUYMhEiSfYftTEKJUdwFP/image.png

Sort:  

I care about results and don't mind the implementation. Getting smaller holders to have a bigger impact on curation is a great way to upsell users to invest their $ in SteemPower.

yeah ones with a short sight and small mind :| the others are more likely to be damaged because they are already the bad whales :| or have left :D

Thank you for posting @cryptoctopus.

You are correct regarding the results........experientially this is what one is seeing happen....now for the numbers.

Bringing value to Steemit and to Steemit colleagues is motivating.

Actually there is another choice. I am FOR the experiment for the purposes they intended it. I am not for it in the format they did it. I believe it should be implemented at the code level to enforce the whale no up vote no down vote for X amount of time so it doesn't require people to police the results and down vote and up vote to counteract the activities of people.

In other words, I am for it as long as it is a controlled and planned implementation. Then the results should be pretty accurate.

What the uncontrolled one revealed is that there IS an impact to doing this, but the full extent I don't think is completely known due to the uncontrolled factors.

Here you go :)

One more please, to complete the set. Should look like this - "FCINST" LOL

hahahahahaha :D Best banner! Follow and up-vote :)

believe it should be implemented at the code level to enforce the whale no up vote no down vote for X amount of time so it doesn't require people to police the results and down vote and up vote to counteract the activities of people.

this would have required a hardfork, i think. Which would have had to come from steemit inc. which would have spent 8 months melodramatically wringing their hands.

Regardless of how long it takes, it is still the only realistic truly controlled "experiment".

lovely and well designed images!

But with all due respect, I don't think encouraging people to take sides is a healthy way for resolving opinion differences. Communication is. Although one may argue that this is exactly why s/he is against the experiment - lack of communication. For that I respect and agree partly. Knowing why others have different stances is far more important than knowing their stances only. We should encourage interchange of opinions, not taking sides - simplification often leads to wrong conclusions and nobody wins.

Sorry for spoiling the fun, if that's your intention. For the record, they are really cute banners! I just hope you can modify and use them elsewhere. As always, just my 2 cents. :)

I do agree 100% with what you are saying as far as communication. It was more intended for fun, since I think the community has to a large extent already "taken sides". Trying to lighten the mood more than anything else :)

adding the last two banners. now people will know this is for fun. then great! upvoted. As humor is as important as communication.

I have to agree. I don't think it's a good idea to present banners like this. @artist1989, I see your response and appreciate the attempt to lighten the mood, but I think people posting banners like these could lead to more polarization. Think of the issues that those political signs cause in people's front yards.

I see your view. I don't really think that the banners are going to polarize the situation more than it already is though. People already have their opinions, and are fairly divided over it. I think that the "front yard" signs are just a way for people to express themselves. It makes the disagreement that is already there a little more on the 'playful' side.

You're right. The situation can't really become more polarized than it already is.

I just don't want to see people separating into ranks behind placards. That just brings violence and angry antics to my mind. It's very easy for people with an opposing view to see a banner like that and stop interacting with a person solely on the grounds of that one belief, which I don't find productive.

These banners might not lead to that kind of behavior, but it would be unfortunate if they did.

Anyway, you did a nice job making them. Hopefully, people can use them, disagree about all of this, and still have a sense of humor at the end of the day.

replying to your deeper comment here.
yes, and your reply is exactly my point - trying to classify or label others, even just in our minds only, is doing little good. I agree with you. My opinion is previously we are too much blogging than social media so definitely moving towards the latter is always welcome by me. If there is a poll right now, I will vote stop the experiment. check my latest comment shall you are interested, and that williambanks' post too. have a good weekend!! :)

the situation is getting worse. and before I submit this reply, I get curious and check your comments to look for your opinions re this. I am more like a forst position and I think you are more like a foinst ... see how ridiculous classifying? but it's funny if people have the capacity to accept humor.
but as I said, seems more angry users than happy ones now. I now will tend to support stopping the exp just for the sake of cooling down emotions and of avoiding further divide.

Were you replying to me @deanliu? If so, I'm not really for or against the experiment. It is producing some interesting results. I'm trying to do a lot of reading now so that I can better understand the root of the situation. I can see why people are upset by this, and I can see why people are excited about it. Since the experiment started, I have had more fun using steem and interacting with people here than ever before. I think we need to find a balance between being a social media platform and a blogging platform/content center. I'm not sure what the best solution is.

The front page and the hot page used to be full of genuinely interesting articles that the guilds had curated. Steemit was a nice place where you could get away from memes and trolls and settle down to read some interesting stuff you couldn't find anywhere else. I used to love all the stuff about farming on aceh and travel in Japan and so on.

Now it's just a mess of people arguing and shouting at each other, and umpteen posts about steemit and dash (and you can find the dash stuff in other places, why do we need to read about it here as well).

I want the old steemit back - it was an oasis on the web where the usual race to the bottom in social media wasn't happening.

I agree with @dwinblood. The goal is a positive the current implementation is flawed.

Absolutely in favour of it - how it was implemented is something we could discuss but we discuss a lot and need more people actually DO something if it is of value for the community. We just need to see finally what the conclusions are @abit

I prefer to not word the word "against". People are the experiment or for something else. If there is a choice, then there is not freedom. If that makes sense. So the right choice when there is no choice. Only then may there be no conflict (of these so called choices), and no consequence.

Bad SP Whales give Steemit a bad name, chase minnows out the door and cause havoc with the community. Power to the steemians not just a few fat cat SP whales!
For_1680x8400.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88