BOSIET (Basic Offshore Safety Induction and Emergency Training) part 1

in #experience6 years ago

BOSIET is an acronym for Basic Offshore Safety Induction and Emergency Training. It is a training programme that was created specifically to provide introductory safety training and other basic survival training like emergency response training and risk assessment for employees that are new to offshore oil and gas business. This training embodies first aid, fire fighting, sea survival, helicopter survival and self-rescue.
image

My training was scheduled for three days in Ogun state, Nigeria. My day 1 started with the helicopter survival. As the instructors said they always start with the helicopter survival since it is the hardest of all. If we can pass this first training then we can pass any training. We started by having a class which is the theory part before going for the practical aspect.
image

We were told it would be in two sections: the controlled ditching and the uncontrolled ditching. The following instructions were given to us.

  1. Stand by for ditching
  2. Check seatbelt
  3. Check hood
  4. Check suit zip
  5. Check lifejacket
  6. Brace for impact
  7. Once and impact has been made, one hand on harness and the other on exit
  8. Finally push the edges of the window and swim to the safest location.
    image

After we were done with the theory, we went to the water side for the practical aspect. On getting there, I could remember two men said they wanted to go back that they couldn’t do it that they don’t think they would survive. But after much orientation we started the practical. First Was The controlled ditching. We weren’t giving anything to cover our nostrils. We were put inside the helicopter (not a real one just something for practice), and ditched into the water then the helicopter was turned 180 degree like it capsized and we were told to break the glass of the helicopter and swim out. Though it wasn’t easy at first. I could remember I drank enough water the first trial but I was able to survive the training.
image

Special thanks to my industrial training company Chevron for the opportunity given to me. With my BOSIET certificate I have the minimum requirement to work offshore anywhere in the world for a duration of four years. My day 2 experience loading.

Sort:  

Boss @prosperfresh, with this you've gained a lot in the #OilAndGas sector.
Keep soaring high boss.

Thank you very much sir

It was a nice experience man.............upvoted.........follow me cos av following you

Great way to go man. The oil and gas industry is in site. Offshore here I come.

Thanks my boss.

Fascinating article, @prosperfresh! This is something I never imagined I would read about. I love the pictures you were able to include. I'm looking forward to your report on Day 2.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions on the @mitneb Curation Trail. It will be featured in my daily curation report on 12 JAN 2018.

Cheers!

Thank you very much ma'am.
I will soon drop my day 2 experience

Great illustration bro..
That was some experience..
Fear for finish me😂😂

Hahaha
Thanks a lot

Now i'm getting to know more about this oil and gas and i bet you by the time i finish reading your experience about BOSIET, i will be the boss lady😀😀😀, infact petroleum students will be coming for special tutorial

Lol
Yes ma you will o

Interesting...

Upvoted my friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38