Shaving my head at 17 + Pros and cons

in #experience7 years ago

I remember lying awake in bed for 3 hours staring at the ceiling wondering what my parents would say when they saw my head. I had come home from a party the night before and when I first woke up I had forgotten that my hair was gone. Now, I want you to remember that coming from the upper middle class, shaving your head is weird. So naturally, I was terrified to show my parents what had happened to my head 1 AM in my friend's basement. I walked out to the bathroom to look myself in the mirror.

Shit, no hair. Fuck I look stupid. Well, it feels nice. Actually, maybe I like it.

quick shower

Wow, my hair is already dry. I look better now. I don't need hair. Fuck hair.

I've had medium long hair brown hair for as long as I can remember. I always had a classic guy's hairstyle growing up. I was never a rebel, I was a good kid - at least my family thinks. Maybe that is why my mom reacted the way she did.

After having stared at myself in the mirror for 20 minutes, I was convinced that I could totally pull it off and confidently went upstairs to the living room where mom was. Maybe I was not as confident as I would have liked to be. Actually, I was fucking scared. During my time in bed, I had been thinking of several ways my parents could punish me for what I had done to my hair.

My mother's first reaction when she saw me walking into the living room wearing my Russian designer, Gosha Rubchinskiy tee with a shaved head was awful.
I entered the living room where my mom was lying down on the sofa using the iPad. At first, I said hey, then she said hey. Then she looked up. And I swear, I have never seen a more disappointed face in my life. Then she screamed a little. Then she yelled at me for a while. Then she cried a little. At this point, I had been standing in the living room for 5 minutes having said only one word, "Hey". I was sad and honestly, I could cry. It was like my world broke down As my mom yelled, I slowly realized how stupid and ugly I looked. It is a little heartbreaking when your mother does not approve you.

Enter, dad.

My dad is a special kind of guy. Basically, he's not the kind of father who you would talk about life or have a serious conversation with. And getting his support is rare. Not that he does not support me or my family, but getting him to tell you that he supports you, is not common.

The first thing my dad said to me was "Damn, you look different" followed by a long pause and then "I like it, you look older now".
After my mom had been talking shit and told me how stupid I was for 10 minutes straight, my dad comes in and saves me right as I was about to break down. Thank you, Dad.

Now to the pros and cons of shaving your head. I've made a list. I will start with the pros

Pros:

  1. Your tiny hairs dries in seconds
  2. You can look cool but most likely not
  3. You will pull girls but most likely not
    (Actually, I pulled the best looking girl that I have ever pulled, while my head was shaved)
  4. You will get a lot of attention
  5. You will save money on hair products
  6. You can do it by yourself
  7. Everyone will ask the question "Why did you do it", also the girl you like.
  8. If you suffer from acne or just bad skin in general, it will help you. Because you will not be sleeping on your greasy hair every night.
  9. A shaved head can compliment your outfit.

Cons:

  1. You look stupid
  2. If you have an oddly shaped head that has been hiding under your hair, it will now be exposed
  3. You will most likely not pull any girls
  4. Everyone will look at you like you are weird
  5. People will purposely avoid you
  6. You can end up looking like someone being treated with chemotherapy
  7. You will get a lot of attention
  8. A shaved head can ruin your outfit
  9. You will have to shave your head every 2 weeks or more to keep it looking "good"
  10. Everyone will ask the question "Why did you do it"

But the, without a doubt, worst thing about shaving your head is the process of growing it out again. It took me almost a whole year to grow a decent looking hairstyle out. However, that was because my barber fucked up once and cut my hair way too short.
If you are looking at shaving your head, you should be aware that it will take anywhere from 5 to 12 months to grow a decent hairstyle of a medium length again.

I do not regret shaving my head. However, I would not do it again anytime soon. At the end of the day, it might just seem like it is just hair and it will grow out again, but it's not. Your hair is a big part of your appearance. It is a part of the first impression people get when they meet you and therefore if you are not sure whether or not you should shave your head, I would advise you not to. Especially if you are young. However, if you think you would be able to pull it off, go for it. As mentioned earlier, it can look really good on some people.

  • Maucissistic

(I do not take the responsibility for spelling errors, grammatical errors or whatever error I may have made in the text. I'm not a native English speaker and I'm too lazy to correct the text for errors)

mau shaved.jpg

A picture of me

Sort:  

Congratulations @maucissistic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67