When It's Time Say Goodbye

in #expatraiation7 years ago (edited)

Saying goodbye is often difficult especially when it comes to saying goodbye to your home country! Most people would consider it crazy to actually leave there home country beyond a short vacation. However, that's actually what's some people need to do. Think about it. How many times have you or your friends say something like the following;

"This place sucks."

"People suck"

"America sucks."

"I hate living here!"

"I'd love to travel someday."

"I can't stand American men/women." 

I hope the above quotes help get a point across. People maybe even yourself often are dissatisfied about where they live. So what to do about it? Obviously just complaining won't solve the problem, so why the answer is to do something about it. For me and my friends it was to leave our home countries.

In my case I left America not because I didn't love it, on the contrary I love America, but I love travel and adventure so when the opportunity to teach English in Korea popped up I took it. Some of the people I met over the years came here to find work, adventure etc. With that in mind some people stay here long enough to get married and start families like I did. I've lived here long enough to go through the whole cycle of ups and downs; made a lot of money, lost some money, made my own businesses here, and there list goes on, however it's never been boring.

I can honestly say that moving to Korea wasn't easy, but I do have a greater purpose here than I did in America. America is the place where I live a "normal" life, but in Korea there are so many opportunities here that I'm always looking for my cut of the action.

So what do you think?



Sort:  

Congratulations @rjhisle1973! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32