A Canadian in Rome: First thoughts

in #expat6 years ago (edited)

Rome Rooftops.jpg

"Why are you in Rome?!" Truly valid question to ask a Vancouverite who left one of the most beautiful cities in the world to start a new life in Italy. For some, reasons to leave their hometown might be the classic case of Eat, Pray, Love, or I need to lose myself to find myself. For me, it was a calling. I didn’t quite know why. But it was irrational and exciting.

Within the span of a month, I had decided to quit my job, leave the people I know, and move to a country I had only visited as a tourist a few years before. Moving to Rome was a big decision with a purpose — yet the purpose is still fuzzy to me.

It is quite ironic, that a person who values change and innovation, chose a country close to its traditions, where the days blend and life seems to stand still. For this reason, most Italians have countered my response with surprise and confusion. As it seems, Italians are trying to learn English to move to great continent of North America… while I came here seeking the opposite. Yes, the opportunities here are more scarce, but it is completely worth being surrounded by the irreplaceable culture and warmth of the people.

It is not that we desire what we don’t have, but more so, we desire the other half of what completes us. Job security and family security. Money to spend and a great group of friends to enjoy life with. Sadly, I’ve only found the first half in Vancouver, whereas the latter half was in Italy.

Despite being surrounded by positive people, yoga, mountains and the sea, being single and graduated in Vancouver left me feeling empty. Sure, I had the security and healthy lifestyle, the pillars to happiness. Yet the Turkish in me was calling. I had to leave.

We all reach moments in our lives where we question the path we are on. When this happens, there are two possible paths we can take. Either we find out what the discrepancy to our complete happiness is and try to change it; or alternatively, we continue on the same route and ignore the question. I came to a point where I could not ignore the same question any longer. All I can say is that for now, I'm drinking my espressos in Rome, and I am happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75