LONDON IN MY HEART pt. 5/5 - The Highligt of 2017

in #exhibition6 years ago

The Pink Floyd Exhibition is recently on its first tour and can be seen in Rome, Italy.
Macro Spazio Expo
ROMA (RM) Mostre from 21/02/2018 to 01/05/2018
https://www.pinkfloydexhibition.com/

IMG_2196.JPG

…I thought: I am completely prepared for what I will find at ’Victoria & Albert Museum.’

But, I was SOOOO wrong!

As I reached my destination too early, I walked around the neighborhood and took some photos. I also asked a guy, sitting on the bench near the entrance of the Museum, to take a couple of pics of me.

IMG_2181.JPG

We got into a chat and it turned out that his uncle gave him – as a present for the next generation – some of Pink Floyd LPs. He himself also paid the visit to the exhibition and he was so impressed that he wanted to see it at least one more time – but it was sold out a few months ago; in spite of the fact that he had a strong connection inside the Museum – the mentor for his ph-disertation – it did not help him at all.
We talked generally about music and then came along my companion for the occasion.
Namely, as a German Press cardholder I ordered via email a complementary ticket; the British organizers of the event, being so proverbially generous, reserved even two passes for me. As Svijetlana had already visited the exhibition with Lana and had to go to work on that day, I invited Lana’s father – a very nice Canadian guy, living in the UK for ages – to come with me. At the entrance we were equipped with headphones and a walkman and here’s just a random choice of extracts sealed in my visual experience:

IMG_2198.JPG

IMG_2205.JPG

IMG_2207.JPG

IMG_2208.JPG

IMG_2210.JPG

IMG_2211.JPG

IMG_2212.JPG

IMG_2215.JPG

IMG_2216.JPG

IMG_2220.JPG

IMG_2229.JPG

IMG_2232.JPG

![IMG_2237.JPG](https://steemitimages.com/DQmT5HLiqnbgDXj8SWQqK7amFQTgFm3oaApuD6UapacP9Yk
/IMG_2237.JPG)

IMG_2238.JPG

IMG_2240.JPG

IMG_2246.JPG

IMG_2250.JPG

IMG_2261.JPG

IMG_2273.JPG

IMG_2281.JPG

IMG_2285.JPG

IMG_2294.JPG

IMG_2302.JPG

IMG_2315.JPG

The ultimate highlight of the ‘PINK FLOYD: Their Mortal Remains’ and absolutely the most enjoyable part of this stunning exhibition, was the last room which I won’t describe here in details in order not to spoil your full impression once you reach that space...

IMG_2326.JPG

When I finally entered the souvenir shop, I couldn’t resist to buy a couple of items (£15 each) for my grandchildren...

IMG_2799.JPG

IMG_4220.jpg

...and a T-Shirt for myself...

IMG_2385.JPG

...that will remind me 4ever not only of the concerts in Vienna, Austria and Gelsenkirchen, Germany where I enjoyed the original three of five PF members LIVE (Syd Barrett and Roger Waters were unfortunately not there), but also on the all-time documentary music-dvd master-piece shot in historical Pompeii, Italy, back in 1972.

IMG_2798.JPG

I also gladly admit that the pictures from the exhibition and the appropriate sounds are haunting me ever since.

By the way: the meaningful contribution of this really and truly marvelous October day of 2017 was made by the guy named ’Blade Runner’, whose new fiction adventures – this time in the year 2049 – presented in brilliant cinematography made by the 2018 Oscar-winner Roger Deakins – appeared in cinemas across UK just a couple of days before I went to watch this SF in 3D version.

IMG_2803.JPG

One of my top-three favorite writers-philosophers-adepts, D.Chopra (the other two being P.D.Ouspenski and E.Tolle), proves that there is no coincidence in this Reality – everything is either pre-ordered synchronicity or congruence...
How true!
Namely, I met ‘Blade Runner’ for the first time some 35 years ago, in the early 80s, at the FEST – the film festival in Belgrade – as a matter of fact, the same event where I was also introduced to my actual London host – Svijetlana.

IMG_2801.JPG

The circle closed.

Finally, I concluded that particularly special day by buying a half year’s stockpile of finest original Scottish porridge to bring back home to Germany for my breakfast in the next 2-3 months).

IMG_2804.JPG

David got up at four a.m. on the next day only to pick me up from Svijetlana’s apartment and bring me to the nearest bus stop on my way to the airport.

And just one more piece of advice from my part:
DO NOT MISS THE EXIBITON – whether you were or still are Pink Floyd’s fan – if the tour ever reaches your place or neighborhood !!!

IMG_2306.JPG

So, well respected Steemit’s new acquaintances and dear old FB and other friends, in my first article on this platform I tried to document – as vividly as I was able to – what the good ancient Beatles would describe as – ’A day in Life’.
I will hopefully publish the next blog on a similar topic in May, after I see – from the end of April – newly staged the best musical of all times (not only in my opinion) ’CHESS’, composed by the famous and everlasting ABBA-tandem Anderson-Ulvaeus, and written as a libretto by the legendary Tim ’Jesus Christ Superstar’ Rice.
I am soooo inpatient to compare the original Sweedish production that I attended more than 15 years ago in the ’Circus Theater’ in Stockholm, the German version from Essen and this, newest one in London’s ’Coliseum Theater’.
The only performance that probably can’t be topped is the unique ’Royal Albert Hall’ presentation of ’Chess in Concert’ from 2008.

IMG_2805.JPG

But let me leave prejudice aside ... at least until May, 2018 ...

In the meantime I invite you to check my ‘introduceyourself’-column which may hopefully awake your interest to become my followers in order to witness here the experience from some of my journeys, for example, to Cyprus, Scotland, Netherlands, USA, as well as a range of topics – from cosmogenesis, anthropogenesis, esothery and mysticism, to sport, and, of course, everyday life...

IMG_2189.JPG

’til then, I leave you with a regular Casey Kasem’s radio-greeting:
’Keep reaching for the Stars, but keep your feet on the Ground! ’

Sort:  

Super cool way you present your experience at the Pink Floyd exhibition. How cool you included the Blade Runner movie posters! Loved the sequel, as I loved the original.

Thank you very much on your comment! Stay cool and may the Light be with you on your Path !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95