Morning Ride In The Rain

in #exhaust6 years ago

I just finished a 104.141km cycle that lasted about 3hh:54mm:43ss !

image

OK, don't let the photo fool you, the morning was a wet and windy morning, only to clear up about and hour after I had finished the ride.

The day hadn't started off that bad either. The plan was to leave home at about 7am and head over to the sea side, just outside of Auckland for a 4 hour ride, and then meet my girlfriend at a local winery where she was running a half marathon, that morning. There was a forecast of rain at around lunch time, so that gave me heaps of time to get out onto the ride, and finish before the rain came. The weather didn't cooperate, after about 90 minutes on the road the rain started lightly and then kept coming, almost until I finished my ride.

Even though, the rain and wind made things a little tough, I was actually not to phased by it and can say that I didn't hate the ride. My speed is improving, I am enjoying the ride and I am seeing a lot more of Auckland and the country side, instead of riding the same boring rides that I had been previously.

For more details on my ride, feel free to check out Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/2090245844
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

I've decided this winter to only ride when it is dry. I have plenty of clothes to keep dry in but I hate that I have to wash them after every ride (and this time of year that means almost every day. My plan this winter is to use my indoor elliptical machine on the days that are raining and the days when the road will still be covered in water from the rain.
I do miss riding my bicycle every day though.

That must be an awesome way to see the country side! Monstrous effort!

You and your partner are super inspiring. 100km rides and half marathons all over the place -- keep it up!

Looking good buddy!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46