I think I've become a full on old person...

in #exhaust5 years ago

I just finished a 3.8km run that lasted about 0hh:27mm:58ss !

image

So, it was less than 2 years ago where I was a total apartment dude, living right in the heart of the city and walking wherever I needed to be. Life was all communal social areas, bars and coffee shops and indoor rock climbing. It was definitely a fun life, but seasons and the world around me pretty much had zero effect on my life.

Now, as a total old person, I find myself getting super excited about random gardens I ran past, and the wild flowers popping up all over the place. What happened to me? I was possibly cool.... now I've got the conversational stylings of a grandparent who has just come in from the backyard. Sigh.

That said... the wildflowers on my run are amazing... and it is all really exciting to see the landscape around me literally blossom with funness... even if it is that awkward stage of the year where bright running tops save me from hunters, but put me directly in the line of fire for very excited bees.

My conditioning is going really well now. My time wasn't great today, but that's mainly because I kept stopping to take photos. @exhaust definitely inspires me to get out running, but it also distracts me during the actual run because I want to grab a good cover photo. I was totally excited to take a photo of myself with some horses in the background, and then was too busy waving at them as I ran past to remember to actually take the shot.

Now that my calves and Achilles are 70% less jerks, I can really start to work on my speed and try to run the whole distance without stopping.
Hope you're all well!


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

"the wildflowers on my run are amazing." what happened to you dude?

I don't know... I used to be all motorbikes and street parties... now look at me. I know we're the same age... but don't get old man, whatever you do...

Mate!
Nothing wrong with some wildflower appreciation 😊
I would like to see some pictures of said flowers to be honest!
But hey, of course a horticultist would say that haha.

Haha... a horticulturist.. and anyone interested in things would say that...

To be honest, I took a photo of the wildflowers... I even tried to get the forest in the background... but when I got back home the photo wasn't in my gallery at all. I was trying to run so I'm sure I just did something stupid...

Haha, fair enough...
I guess it wasn't meant to be, there is always next time!

Well at least you're still out there running, for an old person. Also hearing there are wild bees around makes me happy. I'm guessing we get to live at least another day before total ecosystem collapse.

Sure... but I'm confusing these little buzzy guys. Instead of hitting up delicious polleny flowers, they're chasing me.

I'd actually like to get a beehive myself. I don't even want the honey, I just want a safe place for bees to breed...

Motivation to run faster?

Yeah my Brissy friend put one up in her jungle backyard garden, and this summer passed, they got flowers on some tree for the first time every. Coincidence????

Embrace it. Being old is sweet. You can make a Delorean or rotary telephone joke at work and then you and the other old people can laugh at the youngsters who don't get it ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, I mean, to be honest, I can't wait until I'm a crotchety old man... I can say what I damn well like and nobody can do nothing about it because I'm old. Getting a walking cane is going to be the best day of my life... I'm going to put a sword in mine.

You have uploaded 42 running activities, and 40 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

  • Fastest run ever by one lil Aussie Ninja - 3.8km @ 4:40 min/km pace.
  • Last day of #hotellyfe - 3.8km @ 5:33 min/km pace.
  • Speed Ninja! - 3.8km @ 5:45 min/km pace.
  • Treadmills are the worst - 3.8km @ 6:22 min/km pace.
  • Ah, I might have just run my fastest time yet... - 3.8km @ 6:34 min/km pace.

Over these 40 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 152.20 kms at an average pace of roughly 6:57 min/km!

Looks like you went a bit slower this time! Remember that it's important to take some rest days, and do some rehab / prehab / strength and conditioning training too!

That means I've been an old person all my life XD (well still not that into gardening really, but I use plants etc to work out when the seasons are shifting).

Yay for calves and Archilles being 70% less jerks!

Hi @aussieninja!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.513 which ranks you at #2021 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #56.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51