Ride to Work: Surrey to Sapperton | Training for Canuck Place Adventure Race 2018

in #exercise6 years ago (edited)

In 10 days I will compete in the 2018 Canuck Place Adventure Race, which includes a 16KM bike ride, 6KM trail-run, and an obstacle course. As part of my ongoing training, this morning I rode 9.1KM to work, I will run at lunch and ride home after work.

The Canuck Place Adventure Race is a once a year triathlon of sorts which helps to raise money to support kids who have terminal illnesses like my daughter Lumina.

Side note: Our race team, "This Little Light" has raised over $3,000 CAD so far this year! Yipeee!

Canuck place race.png

So this morning I rode to work and it was tough but fun. Here is the route I rode, the area has a couple hills but is relative flat so by most people's standards its a fairly easy ride... not for me, but for most. :)

My Bike to Work Route:

Bike ride.png

I live in Surrey, BC, specifically an area of Surrey called Newton, and it's well serviced with bike lanes and spacious roads so it feels safe. But this morning the roads were more than quiet, they were tranquill. I watched the sun rise and the sparse clouds turned red then orange than pink, it was lovely beyond my ability to describe.

Being in a rush to arrive at work on time I didn't stop to capture a photo but I found this online and it does reflect the area and the view I saw this morning.

Surrey Skyrise as seen from Sapperton:

sapperton-sunrise.jpg
Source: Global News (Fan submission)

Anyways, I was excited by my effort his morning, proud that I fought fatigue and hit the pavement and pushed through my pain to get a morning ride in. I appreciate you stopping by to check in and hear my tale, thank you.

As always thank you for your time and attention, it means a lot to me. I hope you have an amazing day.

button_upvote-comment-resteem-follow.png

Sort:  

How wonderful it is when everyone does their bit to organize these sporting events and help these lovely children who need so much attention, I hope you do the best.

Maybe it's a bit difficult, but it's not impossible to get lucky

Thanks bro. I will do my best to earn funds, finish the race and make my family proud.

And I'm sure you'll make it my friend

I did not know I was involved in these things, hopefully it will go very well and can achieve so objective, I'm glad to know that they have collected so much money to raise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80