Density Training

in #exercise6 years ago (edited)

I'm still learning on this topic, myself. But a former friend had pointed out that muscle density is the secret to having more managable muscle mass on the body without sacrificing speed. He referenced Bruce Lee, who is tinier than a lot of men out there and was capable of hitting exponentially harder.

Personally, I've never been one of the people who sees being a hulking mass of muscle as being appealing. It isn't functionally feasible. The Survivalist in me grasps that being big, bulky, and able to pull 2,000 pounds means nothing if you find yourself in a situation that requires you to be fast enough to react in time with your eyes, or in time with mobile threats. Not to mention, my very bones are structured and sized for Power. I'm not worried about it. Speed and Stamina, however, are my bread and butter in any situation where my body is a factor. I have always been lightning fast for somebody built as broad and big as I am.
I not only intend to remain that way, I want to make sure I can do so for far longer than anybody I meet can.

My original regimen was sets of 30 in a lap through the gym after a warm up round of cardio. I would do all of these without break in-between, excepting the time it took me to wipe down the station I was at before heading to the next. I had been told that Arnold Schwarzneggar supposedly did this in his body building days, and it worked out for him.
I had also been told that it was reps, not weight, that impacted definition. A set of 40 will go a lot farther to toning a muscle than a few broken up sets of 10 will.
So, I set out for weights that I estimated would challenge me to do for 30 reps, but that I could consistently do for 30 reps, 3 days a week.
That being said, my concept of what a Superset is was lacking until I brought it up to the owner of the gym I go to. He pointed out his understanding of it, which triggered memories of the last weight room I had been in ever, which checked out with what I'd seen others doing and had no explanation for at the time. It isn't reps, but exercises without break that define a superset. So, a set of bicep curls, tricep extensions, and leg press would be one superset. Essentially making my entire day at the gym one enormous superset. Yey.

The goal with this kind of training is to go for muscle exhaustion. Or at the very least, to hit that threshold. I was told that this is how you stimulate the fine fibers between the muscles when you flex them, so that all of that fills out as well, which does contribute to your base Strength, Stamina, and even speed to a point. This is also how you appear more chiseled. My goals in the weight room are to perform at higher and higher capacity, yes...but also to slim down and tone up.
Another plus to stimulating said fine fibers, you aren't left with a gaping area of not even softness, just an empty slot on the limb, where you just feel nothing there, while you flex. That's always disturbed me a little, even as a child.

I can tell it's working. My legs are a lot firmer even when resting, one of my main gripes about my body over the years. And the arms aren't nearly so empty feeling in the middle when I flex. It's just a matter of continuing the hard work.
Heh. And my back has actually stood up to what I've heard described as an "Eagle-beak" fingerjab (And a few lighter punches on another day) without threatening to spasm on me. So whatever atrophy those muscles were suffering from is well on the road to recovery, considering I couldn't have my back suddenly touched without a spaz-fit coming upon me about two months ago.

Anyway...my purpose in sharing this, as with most things, is three fold. The first two are the most relevant.

  1. To learn where I am mistaken, so I can test the quality of the new content VS what I was already working with.
  2. To share with others, to help them further along with a smoother sail.

Whitegoodman2.jpg

Sort:  

Hold up.... You said there were three, but you only listed two. Don't keep us in suspense, dude. What.... Is.... The third???

Isn't that just a summarization of #2? :-D

Potentially, but not necessarily.

3 is potentially redundant, which is why I left it off the table. But since 2 can be interpreted in a solely instructional sense...there is still room for inspiration, in a longer term context that has yet to be established.

It would also be awfully sissy maried vain of me to assume that Inspiration would be worthy of putting out there. As if I am something that noteworthy yet. Yet...

LOL Yes, yes. "A good energy in the gym." Very nice, Dwight...... :-D

Dwight, white, flight, spite, right, night.... Tomato. Tomahto. Far as I'm concerned, it was just ben stiller playing a character that was probably the ONLY thing he's ever done, aside from Zoolander, that I EVER found to be genuinely funny.

The caretaker he played in Happy Madison had some decent lines and fantastic execution overall as well.

"Now you will go to sleep. Or. I. Will. Put you to sleep."

BILLY Madison. Not "happy". You combined Happy Gilmore with Billy Madison, didn't you? Come to think of it.... Wasn't it Happy Gilmore that he did that role in? I think?

I totally forgot about that! That was freaking HILARIOUS!!!!!! Thank you for reminding me!

The Animal, Male Giggolo was another good one. Rob Schneider seems to own every role he does.

Ben stiller wasn't in those. How did we go from stiller to schneider? This is another one of your goofy ass jedi mind tricks, isn't it? ISN'T IT? :-D :-D :-D

All I'm saying is that The Kid: 9 Yards, starring Bruce Willis, was a great movie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45