I Just talked to my Dad for the first time ever!

in #exciting8 years ago (edited)

Im 27 years old and I have never seen or talked to my real Dad in my entire life! Which wasn't fully his choice. My mom and him got divorced when I was just a few months old. During rough times for them that I do not remember, nor was never really even told about; he was court ordered he couldn't have communications with me or my sister until we turned 18. I tried over the years when I was older to find him, and never had any success. Well last week I was able to finally locate him! I found my older brother, who I have never met also, he is from previous relationship my father was in before my mom. Well anyhow I found my older brother Ronnie and got to talk to him, and luckily he had my dads phone number even tho he has not seen him in 3 years himself. I am glad I got to talk to them both on the phone and catch up. It wad weird talking to someone for the first time in 27 years, with never had seeing them before, but knowing they are an important role in your life. The bad part is, my dad retired 1 year ago, and only 5 days after the day he retired he had a stroke and along with minor vision problems in his one eye, he also has short term memory loss problems. So even tho I have talked to him on the phone two times already, he repeats the same questions multiple times in an hour conversation. Its hard to catch up on life and learn about each other when in only a few minutes things are already slipping his mind. I am really grateful tho I got the chance to talk to him! I live in Pennsylvania and have since I was born, and they are both in Texas. I wish I was closer to them because I would really love to meet my dad in person one day. He is 66 years old and my brother says that his health is not the best because he is diabetic, and heart disease, and high blood pressure run in the family and that my dad is not the best at taking care of himself. Luckily he has Barb, who he has been with for 15 years who is there to help take care of him; or should I say, "look after him"...

I am trying to earn enough money to buy a ticket to fly down there, because now that i have talked to him, and know where he is, I do not want to miss the chance to actually meet him in real life, face to face, before something happens and I could be too late.

I am very excited about all of this!! I am thankful the Internet makes tasks such communicating and finding people that are long distances just | THIS | much easier to do!! I hope I make it there and I get to share more of story with everyone!!

![]

Sort:  

I'm glad you are blessed to have this experience. :)

Thank you! This was truly amazing to me, its closing a book with 27 years worth of questions finally answered!

I know my dad for years but have the feeling we never talked. I am glad you did :)

great story I like your energy, enjoy the trip! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88