Sort:  

Yes, US$ based on averages I pull from API feeds (see the first paragraph).

Wow. I guess I'm having trouble coming to grips with someone trading that much. I'm totally new to cryptocurrency and steemit, so perhaps there is something I'm missing. But wouldn't these sorts of levels lead to wild market swings in the price? Or is market cap so high (i've got no idea what it is or how to find out) that this is just a blip?

Welcome to the jungle. :)

This report just shows funds that were sent to an exchange, not what was actually bought and sold on that exchange. But yes, a high marketcap does lower volatility. If you're curious, you can look through previous reports and find your own correlations between price and withdrawal amounts and such. Mostly altcoins go up and down based on bitcoin though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58754.61
ETH 2507.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47