You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exchange Transfer Report: 2/18/2018 to 2/24/2018

great info @lukestokes ... Im considering selling my sbd since the price seems to keep decreasing and its original value is supossed to be 1usd... whats your take on this? Do you expect any price rise?

Sort:  

I never expect the price of SBD to rise, and I'm always confused when it does. I sell as soon as I get it as I prefer STEEM. That's where the long-term value is.

That should be true, @lukestokes. But how can you explain the recent prices of SBD? If we do not understand the reason for the price rise, we might take a wrong and costly decision here.

It's pure speculation, like many other cryptocurrency coins. From one perspective, SBD is a far better currency than Bitcoin:

  • Free transactions
  • 3 second confirmation times
  • Fewer total coins in circulation (as of right now, in the future that will probably change, which counts again SBD since Bitcoin has a hard cap)
  • Easier wallet addresses as names instead of complicated strings of characters
  • Built-in social media aspect to the token which gives it some utility value beyond a normal cryptocurrency
  • It will never be worth less than $1 USD worth of STEEM. Even BTC doesn't have a guarantee like this.

etc, etc, etc. I could go on and on.

Ultimately, value is determined in the moment of transaction by those who choose to participate. To me, there's little sense in having two speculative tokens in the core of the STEEM blockchain. If people want to speculate, buy STEEM. I see throwing away an opportunity to have a stable pegged currency as a costly long-term decision, but I'm also not willing to destroy the great rewards the community is enjoying right now.

Thank you, @lukestokes for the detailed answer.

but I'm also not willing to destroy the great rewards the community is enjoying right now.

I believe that the high price of SBD helped give Steem a lot of attention.

Long-term is key. :) Best wishes to you. - @splendorhub

Exactly how I feel~*~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93