Excess?

in #excessive7 years ago

On January 20, I watched my first ever swearing in of a president. I'm not sure why I did. I long ago gave up my belief of government.
Forget about all the usual talk of Trump, Obama or government policy. I'll leave that for another day. I couldn't help but think as I watched, how did we get to this? I can't imagine the money spent on this spectacle. The excess, for a country 19 trillion in debt how can you justify things like this?
The funny thing is nobody ever mentions this or seems to have a problem with it. As the news crews scanned the vip's sitting behind the president it looked like a bunch of people who are so out of touch with normal life but somehow act like they care. It's really amazing. Forget about hollywood actors. These people are the best actors we could ever witness.

It made me sad to watch this. The millions of are money spent on this is so excessive and over the top. It reminds me of lottery winners who go broke. It is a proven fact that when you are given money that you didn't earn you have no concept or care how you spend it. It's not yours.

I listened to Trumps speech. I actually liked a bit of it. It might have made me care if he came to the capital took his oath in the office with nobody there except the outgoing regime and went right to work. No parties, gala's or parades.

How can you listen to anybody who speaks of working class americans but has no problem spending it's money on this type of thing.
It's another sad day in this country. It's a day when the full excess of are government is on display for all to see and the wasteful use of taxpayer money.

That's what I see when I watch this.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tmkoz! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tmkoz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45