Join the first Steem Powered Wrestling roleplay efed [eWrestling]

in #ewrestling7 years ago

Calling all Pro Wrestling fans and Roleplayers.

I am recruiting creative writers interested in posting fictional writing roleplays here on the Steem blockchain. If this is something you are already familiar with and enjoy doing, then read on...

For those of you unfamiliar with this concept, it is actually based on a very old internet community game system known as an #efed. An e-Fed is a fantasy #ewrestling organization with competitive matches and events for players to participate in. Traditionally they are managed over the internet on a public forum for all players to access and post on.

I want to start the first efed that is super-charged by the power of the Steem blockchain.

susans_ring_color-760x513.jpg

In a nutshell

It works like this: Players submit roleplays/stories about their wrestler characters, and they get assigned wrestling matches to participate in. The owner of the efed will choose winners and losers for the matches. Losing is no big deal, because you can always challenge the winner to a rematch at the next upcoming event, or challenge someone else to climb up the ranks. Players can even win title belts for their #wrestlers.

Here on steemit, we have the additional advantage of being able to earn some real steem for posting creative #roleplays that draw in fans.

Learn more about ewrestling, efeds, and roleplaying a wrestler by reading Creating an efederation by @vastrix. He did an excellent job of writing some easy to understand articles on the subject, and he also provides many pro tips to help you become successful after getting started.

FedWars_banner1.png

The Decline of Roleplay Communities

Roleplay wrestling communities were very popular back in the 90's when the internet was first gaining some steam. Things changed about ten years ago, and the steam of enthusiasm almost completely fizzled away for most players. Players were getting older, and losing interest. With the rise of social media, many players lost their anonymity. Nobody wanted to post roleplays in fear of their grandma or boss discovering that the strange 46 year old basement dwelling uncle has been spending his time posting silly fantasy wrestling roleplays on a website that looks like it was made by a 12 year old punk rocker.

That was then, and this is now...

The Rise of Steem

With Steemit, I think roleplayers finally have the incentive they need to get kickstarted into ongoing creative content that can be viewed by a wider audience of people who might appreciate it. On steemit, we can still keep a little bit of our anonymity, and we don't have to worry as much about relatives popping in with comments about embarrassing stories about us. People generally only view content they are interested in on Steemit, such as the categories and followers they enjoy. Even nosy family members will probably become less interested in our silly roleplay posts once they build up a feed filled with topics they are more inclined to curate.

Getting Started

I decided to open recruitment here on Steemit to see if there are any other former roleplayers interested in getting back into it, or new generation #roleplayers who want to get started in something new. I am still in the developmental stages, and I am in dire need some inspired collaborators to join me on my new discord channel to lend me some ideas and content to improve what I've got so far. With all of the thousands of people potentially viewing this post headline, I'm hoping it will catch the attention of at least a few dozen people still interested in participating in ewrestling here on Steemit. Consider signing up and joining the roster if you want to post roleplays with me here on Steemit.

Sign up to participate in my fed, Steem Power Wrestling, at efedzone.com. It's fast and free to sign up. I picked efedzone.com because they do a great job of organizing events, titles, the roster, matches, and forums. Everything is easy to navigate and customize for the needs of our community. Players will especially enjoy the ability to create a profile, biography, history, and archive their roleplays in one place so they don't get lost in the forgotten feeds of the blockchain.

Discord channel to reach me: https://discord.gg/pvsvwGQ

Everyone is welcome

Yes, everyone, and I mean every random stranger is welcome visit my discord channel and say hello, share your post urls, and share your ideas with me. However, I am especially interested in meeting others to chat with about improving this efed so it gains more traction.

Below, I am submitting a sample ewrestling rolelplay to give you an idea of the kind of setting for this style of writing.

I think you'll enjoy it a lot.

Sample Roleplay


SPW Livestream

CurrentMatch.png

A stout broadcaster with a mustache and receding hairline is facing the camera with a microphone in his hands. He speaks quickly with a carny-style of voice, growling out his words with unparalleled energy.

Mike: Welcome to Steem Power Wrestling. My name is Hot Mike McClurry, and I'll be your host. Tonight we're broadcasting on the livestream to the millions of fans watching world wide, and I want everyone to know that our very first wrestling event, Danger Zone, will be held this coming March the 31st, 2018.

The camera switches over to show Mike from a different angle. He turns to look at it, and also motions to a tv monitor behind him with the SPW logo on it.

SPW1.png

Mike: But first I would like to introduce you to some of the exciting talented wrestlers auditioning to participate in our competitive roster here at SPW. Names like Massacre, Paul Row, 8ball, Mindfreak, Mystery, Christian Cage, Crunch, Jack Scorpian, and Kid 80's. Standing by, we have Dwayne "The Devil" Underhill with a few words he wants to share here on the live stream.

The scene cuts to a back allyway behind the studio building. A thin man with dark skin, gang tattoos, and loose Caribbean clothing is aiming a spray can at the brick wall. He finishes spraying a strange symbol on the wall, shakes the can, and then tosses it onto the street behind. A cat screams.

DwaynUnderhill_DangerZone.png

Dwayne: Yo, listen'ere. I'm your main man, Dwayne "The Devil" Underhill. Learn 'dat name, and learn it good homies, because 'dats the name of da'man who's going to become the first Main Event Champion of SPW. All of you homies in the back ain't got nuttin' compared to what I got. It takes talent, skill, and wits to outclass your opponent, and I gots all three of them things. So to all of you dummies in the back room, you betta step up if you end up in the ring with me. It ain't gonna be a cake walk, because if you don't know what's coming your way, I'm going to have your back down on the mat so fast with the ref counting 1-2-3, you won't even know what hit you by the time it's all over.

The video stream shoots back to broadcaster Mike McClurry, back inside the studio room.

Mike: Some very choice words from the veteran wrestler, Dwayne Underhill. Dwayne is just one of the many talented superstars here in SPW. In the past month, our scouts have been scouring the most prestigious wrestling schools across the world, from Memphis Tennesee, to Tokyo Japan. They're looking for the biggest new talents ready for the big leagues in the only wrestling federation capable of reaching the masses on the Steem blockchain, here in Steem Power Wrestling. One of those talents, was a former tag team partner to our very own Dwaye Underhill. This man goes by the name of Crunch, and he is proficient in the luchadore style of Mexican wrestling. On top of that he is powerhouse of a man, and probably capable of snapping a man in two if he wanted to. Truly, Crunch lives up to his name. Let's take you to Crunch live who is standing by.

The feed switches to show a muscled masked wrestler. He is sweating and breathing hard as he simulates a series of punch and footwork combos. He speaks with an overly guttural, scratchy voice, and a bad Spanish accent.

Crunch_DangerZone.png

Crunch: Ola! I am Crunch, the strongest man alive. Any man who enters the ring with me leaves a poor, broken man. Si, Senor. I am the best this fed has to offer, without a doubt. No one can defeat me. Sure, I can lift two hundred pounds with one arm tied behind my back, but that is nothing. My deadliest weapon is my hands. When I lock in the Cranium Crush on my opponent, they will feel the devastation of pain unlike anything they have experienced before. Every man who suffers the effects of my signature move, the Cranium Crush either submits, or loses consciousness. That is the choice of every opponent who steps into the ring with me. I do not like to hurt my opponents, but if I must, then I will, and that is a promise. Viva Crunch!

The video returns to the studio room with Mike McClurry watching the monitor screen.

Mike: Thank you Crunch. I want to remind our viewers at home that next month, March 31, 2018 will be our first live event. It's called Danger Zone and you won't want to miss it. If you think you have what it takes to become a main event wrestler here in SPW, we want you to send us an audition tape, and tell us why you think you have what it takes to become a championship wrestler here in SPW. Use the hashtag #ewrestling to make sure your audition promo gets viewed by the masses and our talented team of scouts and bookers will be sure to get back to you. Also be sure to register at efedzone.com and submit your wrestler application to Steem Power Wrestling, the only wrestling fed that pays in Steem.

The camera cuts to a different angle on Mike, and he motions to the monitor where an empty wrestling ring is shown inside a stadium with darkness all around.

Mike: With that we are going to conclude our livestream. I want to thank you and all of our fans for participating in watching. I will be answering questions for a short while inside the chat room. Don't forget to visit our discord channel to interact with us and your favorite superstars like Dwayne and Crunch. We might even have some free prizes to give away as an extra thank you for stopping in. Just remember the secret password to claim your prize is #ewrestling. That's all the time we have for now. I'm Hot Mike McClurry, and I want wish you all a good night. Until next time.

CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

You are not the first but welcome! I run Ultimate Online Wrestling. It will be nice to have some competition on here :) The SteemIt version of MONDAY NIGHT WARS ! You can can check us out here.

https://steemit.com/@ultimatewrestlin/transfers

Good luck launching! Maybe I might join the roster :) Also I promoted your post for you :)

Thank you! Finally. I was beginning to think I was tossing fish into the wind. A completely pointless activity. So you have been running a fed here on Steemit? We should talk some more. Has it been working well? Any lessons you have learned operating on this sort of platform?

If you want to chat I have a UOW discord channel. I just made a few days ago so only Dr. Summeroff and I have joined. Join and we can discuss whatever you want.

https://discord.gg/PHSy8E

Thanks, I'll check in tonight after work. I have some good ideas to motivate and reward ongoing participation. Do you guys use alternate steemit accounts for your #ewrestling posts? I think my voting power from this account can really help you guys get into a higher gear.

where is the match i dont want to miss it that will be an interesting i am waiting for that!

Hopefully, I'll enlist some wrestlers, and we can have our first match in about a month.

yap that will be great actually its first time in your and you got a new follower!

upvote and resteemit has been done

well it look amazing and i really think we should all take a part

wow very nice and i appreciate that you give chance and welcome every stranger to come and join..
i love your blogs and found them very interesting i m following from yesterday :)
i have commented on your post but i think you haven't seen yet.. :) <3

You'll want to check out ewmania.com if you haven't already heard of it.

You should be able to attract a lot of potential new members for your e-fed.

Contact Ben Halkum

Thanks. I passed this comment onto the team. I am in UOW now, which has a friendly discord group and supports eachother's roleplays here on steemit. It's been working out well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74