20 Ways To Organise Your Life With Evernote

in #evernote8 years ago (edited)

  

I have started using Evernote back in 2008, after reading about it in a Tim Ferriss blog post.It didn't seem to me at the time that It would be such an integral part of my life.Evernote is such a versatile tool that can be used for just about anything. Below is a list of 20 ways to organise your life with Evernote. If you are wondering what can I use Evernote for, read on.
If you haven't used Evernote before the fastest way to learn is from Brett Kelly’s amazing e-book, Evernote Essentials.

20 Ways To Organise Your Life With Evernote

  1. Store Important Documents. It is those rare times that you need to find a copy of your passport, a bank statement, an electricity bill or some other document and you find yourself thinking of the last time you did a photocopy. If you can relate to that, you will certainly find that Evernote can cater for that. The premium version can also do OCR search and find data within photos. Awesome.
  2. Create a Reference File Stack.  Over the years, I have been collecting information from websites and blogs that I refer back when required. In Evernote, it is really easy to create a stack of notebooks. I have created a stack called Reference and that includes useful articles and blog posts as well as documents.
  3. Store Your Receipts. One of the ways I keep track of my spending is through storing receipts in an Evernote notebook. Though I am currently using YNAB for budgeting, I have found it difficult to keep track of the random purchases. To that effect, I have started using an app called Scanner Pro for scanning receipts and photos of my groceries.
  4. Store Your Paychecks. If you are receiving payslips still in paper format, you can't find a better place for storing these than Evernote. Especially, if you need to make copies now and then for tax returns or as proof of employment. If you receive email or PDF versions, it is even easier as you can have a Notebook called Paychecks just for these.
  5. Create an Idea Notebook. After reading James Altucher's, "The Idea Machine", I have created a notebook called Idea Machine. This is where I store my daily ideas as prompted by the book. I am always looking forward to the days I get to have Idea Sex. Great book. You should really try if you want to make your brain sweat.
  6. Goals and Weekly Reviews. As part of my 100 Day ChallengeI have created a notebook called "!MasterPlan-Year" and this includes my goals for the year, broken down into 100 Day Challenges and Weekly After Action Reviews.
  7. Kids Drawings. It would be nice to be able to show my son what an artist I was at his age. Anyhow, It was awesome when I thought about keeping a digital record of drawings as he grows up.
  8. Run an Evernote Powered Blog. Around 2013, there was a point when services were spawning up, that would allow you to create a blog right from your Evernote account. Having tried a few of these, the best one, that is still around is "Postach.io". Postach.io is by far the easiest, fastest and best service out there. You can have a beautiful blog up in minutes.
  9. Use Evernote for school. While studying for my Strategic Intervention Coaching with the Robbins-Madanes Training program, I have found it really useful to collect all my assignments and notes in one notebook, shorting everything out with tags.
  10. Integrate With Zapier Tasks. If you want to get data into a notebook or a note from just about anywhere else, Zapier will make the connection.
  11. Quickly add anything from anywhere. One of the appealing aspects of Evernote is the fact that you can add content from just about anywhere. I mainly use the Chrome plugin and then the iPhone app, which can clip websites and anything you come across online.
  12. Share Notebooks. It is easy and straightforward to share a notebook with family or friends and work remotely together.
  13. Lead Capturing. One of the ways I've used Evernote was is conjunction with Ninja Forms. Evernote assigns you with an email address that you can use to email information to your default notebook. You can find your Evernote email address under Account Info within Evernote. So once a form was filled in and completed on my website, it would send an email into Evernote with the contents of the form.
  14. Brainstorming and Task Automation. My favourite use has been for brainstorming and deciding on tasks I'll focusing on for the coming week. This is achievable through TaskClone. TaskClone will read your Evernote Notebooks and find notes tagged with a predefined tag. It finds lines that contain tick boxes and converts them into Tasks that can be synced with your favourite To-Do app. I use Todoist as it is minimal and super-versatile.
  15. GTD ( Getting Things Done) Implementation. Another amazing use is for implementing GTD. This is a productivity methodology developed by David Allen. An easy to follow implementation was done by The Secret Weapon, integrating Evernote and Outlook.
  16. Book List. A great place to store your reading list. A useful article on how to build a book list with Evernote and Workflow from Brett Kelly can be found here.
  17. Clip Webpages. I've found it super useful, that I can clip the whole web page and can refer to it, even if the website doesn't exist anymore.
  18. Speaking Projects. While preparing my speeches for Toastmasters and other speaking engagements, I have found it really useful to organize my notes and research.
  19. Organise Your Vacation. Anything from checklists, to itineraries, ticket copies you can have them stored in a vacation notebook.
  20. Setup Your Business Repositories. Evernote provides a Business version that allows a company to created shared notebooks that are visible by everyone within the company. This is useful for setting up a knowledge base and stop emailing documents back and forth.


These are just some of the uses of Evernote I have implemented over the years and have found them invaluable. You can come up with your own and make it work for your lifestyle and work.

Security Tip

One tip I would add is around security. Since there is so much personal information being stored in Evernote, it is advisable to set up two-factor authentication. This is essentially an additional layer of security that requires you to enter a changing passcode every time you login. You can read more about it here. Highly recommended.
Did This Help You? If so, I would greatly appreciate it if you commented below and shared on Facebook.



Life Mastery Coach Blog


Skype: techimpossible
Email: [email protected]

“I Teach You Strategies That Work, Mindset and Habits That Will Allow You To Design A Life On Your Terms”

PS: If You Don’t Know What is Your Focus for the next 100 Days, This is the Course you Should Get – 100 Day Challenge

If you enjoyed this post on Post Title, retweet and comment please.  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64059.91
ETH 2761.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72