EVEREST: The sorry state of our country identity management system. Can blockchain technology Help?

in #everest6 years ago (edited)

OPENBRIX PARTNERS(191).png

The government digital identity management system is currently in a sorry state, and my country identity records are still being stored in old shelf's despite technological advancement. They have started upgrading their identity records systems to cloud storage facilities that are centralized risking the security and privacy of the whole country identity data. With technological advancements our country needs to improve and adopt latest technology that are tailored towards identity management security and use cases.

Despite having my records with the government, I have to go around carrying my hard copy of the identification copy which I have produced numerous times that it is now getting me in trouble for being worn out and the contents are not readable. As a business's man who uses the global world as my business environment my identity card always causes delays as the verification takes time - I also know security guards at airports and hotels laugh behind my back when I produce a booklet that represents my identification, the funniest part is the attachment of photographs that are still attachments of the passport photo that I delivered when registering my identity. I had to laminate the identity book so that the photo will not fall and a preservative measure.

The digital age is here with us, my identification is required everywhere from financial platforms such as PayPal, international banking, credit card processing and now we are in the financial revolution of cryptocurrencies and my identity needs to be verified during the “know your customer” obligation duties in order to comply with the law.

The digital records are with my government and contacting them for the digital copy will take eternity and the person processing it will ask so many questions about my intention despite this being my identity records, the funniest part is that I will not even get the digital records since there is nowhere stated that we can ask for them – the data is stored in raw format that even after I get the records it will be difficult for the parties asking for them to interpret.

It’s a sad story that the current data management is causing security risks and its convenience to its beneficiaries and I believe a solution is needed.

Everest Identity management systems Solution.

OPENBRIX PARTNERS(192).png

I stumbled upon a solution which I believe will solve all my problems, a start-up going by the name Everest is building a decentralized identity storage platform that stores identity records in structural digital records that can be used in the global environment and still be easily verified, this will decentralize the process of handling identity records, My county is a developing country I understand that we might not have the resources and the skills to incorporate digital identity management on our systems, the budget is focused on infrastructure and other issues affecting developing countries – Everest platform has already build a free to use identity management system that we can incorporate and will not cost a dime to our country when moving to digital identification systems. Our population is also causing delays in manual identification processing, with automated one-time records validation will decrease the time and manpower required towards registration of identities. Everest platform is scalable thanks to blockchain technology and handing our countries population, scalability will not be a problem. Through Everest identity management systems our country population will have complete ownership of their digital records which are immutable and secured through cryptography in decentralized databases that are more secure than the cloud storage my country uses.

EVEREST Blockchain-based Identification.

OPENBRIX PARTNERS(193).png

The current advancement of technology renders my identification documents outdated, and with anywhere my records are used we are forced to sue passwords and 2FA authentications to protect our data. With the advancement of technology cybersecurity has been threatened by hackers and these methods are unsafe especially when we are now using digital currencies which are targeted by hackers.

A sovereign identity will give us a global environment where our identity cards are accepted and easily verifiable, users will have complete control of their identities and I believe this is the path we should follow as technology dawns on us.

Everest identification can be used online and offline, which makes its application be easily adopted and the standardization of the identity data will go way ahead towards helping in cross border identity verifications.

Conclusion.

As a global community, I believe the adoption of a sovereign identity needs to be adopted in a global scale towards mass use cases. This is also a determining factor on Everest success. Decentralization of identity management systems will also help in the decentralizing records where currently we have to register afresh in every industry that requires our identity. The encryption records by Everest platform will protect our data through storage in distributed nodes that are stored in decentralized ledgers and encrypted using cryptography.

OPENBRIX PARTNERS(194).png

References.

LINK https://everest.org/#token-sale

Website: https://everest.org/

Token Sale: https://everest.org/#token-sale
Whitepaper : https://everest.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/Everest_whitepaper.pdf
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Everestdotorg
Twitter: https://twitter.com/everestdotorg
Telegram: https://t.me/Everestdotorg
Reddit : https://www.reddit.com/r/EverestDotOrg/
Ann Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4756978


Author: jamesndungu1

BitcoinTalk Profile: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=1856049

UPVOTE.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 63351.43
ETH 3495.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53