Nissan Leaf Ownership

in #ev7 years ago

leaf.jpg

I have owned an electric vehicle of one sort or another since 2004. Even before that, I owned an Electric Leopard, but that is another story for another time. In this note I want to list many of the advantages that I see with my latest EV, the 2012 Nissan Leaf.

This is truly an amazing car. Of all the EVs I have owned, this is the best. If you have not test driven one, please take the time to do so. I do not like the exterior appearance of the car, mainly the strange bug like eyes (headlights). Other than that, and it being a limited range vehicle, I believe it is the best commuter car (especially, if you commute less than 30 miles, one way).

List of negative qualities:

  1. Range is limited to about 80miles ( 60miles for sure ) on a single charge... of course, you can go further, just have to wait to fill it up.
  2. The state of North Carolina applies an additional tax to the car each year, since it does not use gasoline. Not really a problem with the car, but the state.

List of positive qualities:

  1. Cost of ownership and fuel is very low.
  2. It is very comfortable and quiet.
  3. It has an excellent acceleration, even at highway speeds.
  4. It has heated seats (even in the back) and a heated steering wheel. (nice in the winter)
  5. I can charge it at work. So, essentially I get paid to drive to work.
  6. I can turn on the airconditioner / or heater, remotely. This allows it to get to a comfortable temperature using mains power while I walk to it in the parking lot.
  7. The keyless entry is very convenient.
  8. You can get a used one for not much money.
  9. It pollutes a lot less than a gasoline car. Yes, there is pollution at the power plant, and some when the battery gets recycled.

Maintenance is low. Changing tires and windshield wipers is about it. Yes, there are still brake fluid and other fluid changes needed as well. The acceleration feature is very useful. I can actually make a light change that a gas car could not. Also, the acceleration is so quiet, it just hard to describe. I use the trickle charger at work. Basically, plugging it into an 115V outlet on the outside of a building. Yes, it does take most of the day to fill up the charge. The main advantage of plugging it in is that I can turn on the A/C and come to a cool car, versus a hot one. And yes, it did not reduce the range to get the car cool first, since it charged off the mains power. If you have not considered this car, I recommend taking one for a test drive. It is definitely an excellent commuter car.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28