Complaining about taxes, selectively.

in #ev5 months ago

image.png

Was paying my car's registration, and noticed an extra $200 fee. Looks like the rationale is that EV owners don't pay the state's gas tax, yet still use the roads that it's meant to support. Which, you know, as much as I might want to complain, actually makes sense to me as fair.

But just for shits and giggles, I crunched the numbers. The average motorist uses less than 500 gallons a year, and the state portion of the gas tax is 20 cents a gallon, so that's a bit under a hundred bucks a year. In other words, half of what I pay to make up for not paying it.

It's not a big deal or anything. If I'm gonna complain about taxes, it would be the $10k in property taxes I pay every year instead, or maybe capital gains the years that hits me hard. Just something disproportionate I noticed.

Sort:  

I believe that some areas have an optional miles tax in place of the EV tax.

Of course government tax programs are insane. They give tax credits for buying EVs then hit them with an EV tax.

The overall effect of taxes is to transfer money from the people at large to those who are good at playing the system.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60