Is life in Europe better than U.S.?

in #europe5 years ago

Enjoy!

Steve Paul, Head, Software and Services Sales (2006-present) - Published at Quora
Updated Wed

I’ve worked with and managed European teams over past 30 years. Here’s what I have learned:

* My European colleagues are competent, and will work hard during regular hours.
* Coffee breaks are real breaks away from work area.
* Personal time is personal time. Don’t ask about working weekends or evening hours. In case of doubt, re-read this. I’ve made this American mistake.
* Work and personal life are distinctly different. Don’t mix the two.
* 4, 5 and sometimes 6 weeks holiday is normal in Europe. Once on holiday, people will be unreachable. 
* Lots of laws to protect the employee. Flip side is willingness to hire more employees is restrained versus USA. US is quick to hire and quick to fire. Europe is cautious to hire and difficult to fire. Can’t have it both ways.
* Retail hours in Europe are limited compared with USA that has become almost 24x7 in some cases. 
* Europeans value quality over quantity compared with USA. Especially true with food.
* Europeans will wait or queue up for nearly free healthcare treatment; Americans don’t want to wait or be constrained about medical treatment so the USA rejects socialized medicine.
* American-style retail doesn’t work in Europe. E.g., selling products below cost to bring customers in the door is often illegal.
* Europeans don’t move around as much; Americans move all the time including selling and buying real estate without much thought. I know people who have moved 8–10 times all over the USA.
* Americans will invite you to their home once they get to know you for a barbecue; Europeans will invite you to their favorite bar or restaurant, but not their home.
* Intercity train travel within Europe is convenient and car is not needed; not practical in the US with a few exceptions in the Northeast corridor.True Cultural Story I: I once made a restaurant order in the Netherlands and requested it be cooked a certain way. The server came back right away with message from the chef. “The chef doesn’t appreciate being told how to cook the food.” Never argue with anyone preparing your food. This answer is not possible in the USA.

True Cultural Story II: I once asked in a Belgian sandwich shop, in a neutral voice, what was in a particular sandwich. I was told “you can read the ingredients for yourself.” Another answer not possible in the USA.

True Cultural Story III (added): I got in a taxi in Utrecht, the Netherlands.The taxis driver had two meters in the cab. The fare meter was obvious. I was puzzled about the second meter, and asked what it was. The driver explained: “I must take scheduled breaks. That meter tracks my work time. I cannot work more than 35 hours per week or I am fined.” So I said, somewhat in shock: “If you come to the USA to work, we’ll let you work as many hours as you want.”Service in Europe is very different than USA. Every trip to Europe, I learn something new. Employment is more regulated in Europe versus USA which also has regulations but fewer than Europe.Americans value economics over quality of life; Europeans value Quality of Life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46