Steak Americain, A Challenge In The Palate

in #europe6 years ago (edited)


Brussels, home to many charming and beautiful attractions, with ornate buildings and many trendy bars and restaurants. It was here where I had my first accidental encounter with "Steak Americain."

I was having lunch with a hostel mate, Jose from Peru, at a posh restaurant in Central Brussels. We picked this place because it looked busy and popular thought it must be good. I was sitting there looking at the menu when at the corner of my eye, I noticed, a very appetizing plate somebody had ordered. It’s a big flank steak grilled to perfection with roasted veggies on the side; it whetted my appetite.

Brussels Belgium
Brussels Belgium

I glanced at the non-English menu trying to make out what I can and saw “Steak Americain.” Jack pot! That’s gotta be it, sounds yummy! Jose nods at me in agreement and we’re both excited at the thought of biting on that juicy and savory steak. The waiter came along; we asked if the “Steak Americain” was good. He smiles with an enthusiastic nod and says, “It’s our specialty and it’s the best in Brussels!” Well, all right then, that settles that. Two, please! Between conversations and glasses of wine, our orders came. And it looked nothing like the big flank steak I saw at the other table grilled to perfection.

Raw is good, right?


What we had here were two fistfuls of raw ground beef with a midget pickle on top and heap of potatoes on the side. Jose looked at me with this strange big-eyed and flabbergasted look on his face, I looked at him the same, then we looked at the waiter as if to say: What the hell did we order? This is the “Steak Americain?” I reiterated the statement to the waiter to which he replied, “Yes, yes, the best in Brussels, our specialty. Bon appétit.” He then wanders off to tend to other patrons.

Two fistfuls of raw ground beef with pickles on top
Two fistfuls of raw ground beef with pickles on top

Jose was examining the mounds of ground meat, poking at it with his fork as if expecting a response in return. I joined him in unison and at one point thought I heard a faint “Mooooo” echoing from the murdered cow and fading into the busy clatter of the far distant street. All right, no sense in fighting it, we’re in beautiful Brussels beautiful ambiance, beautiful view, let’s eat!

I took a big chunk of the pink stuff with my fork and shoved it in my mouth, and it tasted…well, as you'd expect, what raw ground hamburger patty would taste like…bland, with a strange strident aroma of an exposed wound, and a finish with hints of awful…At first bite, it hits you like a hurricane makes you want to upchuck. It’s robust in its chewiness with a taste and texture just like the way it looks in the picture, you can imagine. And for a split second, I even considered throwing the other fistful in some woman’s purse. The thought crossed my mind only because I was chewing some disgusting monstrosity and the look from Jose's face mirrored my deliberation.

An adventurous palate


I’ve eaten fried grasshoppers, bamboo larvae, duck heads, grilled squirrels, etc., but nothing prepared me for this incorrigible blandness. Couldn’t they have added something to make it not have the fleshy chewy texture? C’mon, how about a quail egg like I’ve seen other steak tartare? Why is this not the “Steak Americain” flank medium-well savory goodness I expected it to be?

Not Exactly Steak
Jose's first attempt

These thoughts were rushing through my brain as I forced yet another bite of the dish. I cleared everything else around it, potatoes were gone, pickles were gone, heck I even ate the leaf garnish that was only there for decoration. Having cleared half a fistful, I was ready to give up and Jose had already raised the white flag, cowering to whatever corner of the table he can hide over. But not me, I would not let this raw behemoth beat me, I wanted to conquer it. I grabbed a bottle of Worcestershire steak sauce and doused the living daylights out of it. The sauce...Hurt and only made it more unbearable and unappetizing.

I heard a burst of laughter that came from a Dutch sitting next to our table. He had been watching all these events unfold. He got up, walks towards our table, still giggling and laughing, smiles and looks at me and says: “That’s the best meat in Belgium. It’s our specialty!”

HAVE YOU EATEN RAW GROUND BEEF?


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.alwayswanderlust.com/steak-americain-a-challenge-in-palate/

Sort:  

Pretty interesting platter and a great variety, had tried the same quite long time back and honestly, I did not found it to be too palatable and then had to try it in a sandwich, it was much better with layer of raw ground beef in between the sandwich and lots of other flavorful ingredients. Never tried there after! :)

Raw ground beef? That's a very rare cuisine ;)

No way! whoa raw burger!
The other food looks good but no, never
ever wanted raw burger, now steak a little
pink isn't to bad ;-)

The look on face says it all lol

Some people like it a little rare... lol

in Belgium 'Steak americain' is not a specialty. It is always raw and is usually placed between a sandwich such as ham and cheese. I do not like this either (I am from Belgium). Order a fillet pure. This is very tender fried meat. 'Bleu' is fried and raw inside. 'Saignant' or medium rare is still rosé inside. 'Bien cuit' is Well done.

Well for the ignorants like me, it was quite the experience.

okay, i had a good laugh reading this, and just like you had your first accidental encounter with "Steak Americain" , is how i had mine with this post. the photo looked good and i was like that must have been a badass meal.
i had a good giggle reading this post, aarrghh , how do people manage bland food? not to talk about raw, i am still getting my self to accept that and give it a try.

fried grasshoppers are the bomb, a great delicacy in Uganda and some parts of Tanzania. damn, i just swallowed saliva as i described this.. crispy, salty to perfection and a great taste bud treat .

Yeah, grasshopper are alright except the thorny legs that poke your tongue as you chew :)

As you master the art of chewing grasshoppers, you will know how to skillfully chew the thorny legs (or not).

Thanks for your response.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hahaha ... I love the foods above, there are things look like the cock of the children. Watch for. .. for me this is funny ... hahaha

For an explanation about the uniqueness of Belgium, your writing is one of the best. congratulations

Wow nice food @adonisabril
Looks so good to see, so good to eat.

have you had raw beef before?

Wow this must have been a real experience - one that won't be forgotten in a hurry!

Wow, send me some:))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34