You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindset: Raising Your IQ Through The Power Of Speech - Or How To Completely Ruin Your Children

in #etymology7 years ago

Superb article !

Hmmm...

In everything academic, I've always had a growth mindset, I own several books on the art of learning to learn, and psychology in general. I, of course, haven't read most of them yet as I am VERY easy to distract...

Which leads me to my main fixed mindsets, one of them being that my attention span is limited, and can't change. (Seeing as I'm saying this, kind of means I've recently realized that my attention span CAN be increased through training !)

Another fixed mindset is my... "artistic" persuasion. I suck at art. That's how I've always thought of it. I just have no "talent" in that area. My writing is HORRID, nearly incomprehensible (though just comprehensible enough for me to pass my exams, seeing as I've gotten as far as a beginning a Master's degree XS)

And I'm sure to have a couple of other limited mindsets, through becoming aware of them IS kind of the first step to fixing them XD

Sort:  

I'd honestly like to spend the rest of my life improving every single aspect of myself, but given our world still requires us to gain sustenance and shelter by working, I'm kind of limited for now (I plan on launching some kind of online business at SOME point, to provide for me, but have no freaking idea what skills I have XS)

I think you have identified the main problem, and that is your attention span. I would work on that, meditation is a brilliant method to focus the mind. If you can concentrate on your breathing for minutes at a time, then focusing on more interesting stuff should be a breeze!

Also get some kind of time management software; I recommend Trello, as it is free and uses a great hierarchical system, to organise your tasks and thoughts.

Also accept that, even though you're growth minded, it's ok to suck at something. If you suck at art, it's because you're not drawing everyday, maybe you simply don't have time to do that; or don't want to. I think that is a very important aspect of being growth orientated, simply letting go, and saying; "I'm fine with not being that great at that..." Whatever that, is.

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27