You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Split Spelling Personality Brought On By Americanization

in #etymology8 years ago

I began to feel a little maniacal reading your post! LOL
At this point in time I find myself just vomiting words on a page and I'll clean them up, make them pretty, and edit later...but I'm under no hurried deadline.
I'll keep saying 'erbs but I know a few guys named Herb(-ert, -ie, -alicious) and I simply don't understand the maths thing. An s at the end of math means it's plural - more than one! No... I can't... Math and I don't get along. My Asian half totally let me down. So that's it. Now I need a nap from all the thinking. LOL

Sort:  

Lolz; sorry to induce your mania! :-D

I think I finally understand the whole math/maths thing by the way. You guys got the word "math" from arithmetic, which is singular (though why you don't call it meth is a mystery to me... oh wait). Whereas we take the word "mathematics" and turn it into maths; I think!

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31