You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mindset: Raising Your IQ Through The Power Of Speech - Or How To Completely Ruin Your Children

in #etymology7 years ago

I think most parents have a fixed mindset for any school work. They focus on the fact that the kid needs to have good grades so he could get in to a better school or get a better job. Rarely parents actually care what their kid has learned instead they just take a glance at the grades and think they know what's going on.

Sort:  

Exactly, as parents; and I have been guilty of this in the past, we tend to focus on the result, rather than the process.

I have fixed this now; and when my daughter tells me she got stuff wrong at school, I say; "Excellent! That means you are learning new stuff!" We then go on to talk about the challenges she's facing, and how we can work towards mitigating them.

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56768.45
ETH 2391.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28