You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Split Spelling Personality Brought On By Americanization

in #etymology8 years ago

What an entertaining reply @areynolds! You definitely sound like you have the same affliction as me :-) The Appalachian region; isn't that where Max Cady from Cape Fear came from? If so that is one of my favourite (favorite?) US accents. I shall definitely check out your stuff :-)

Cg

Sort:  

Why, yes! Cape Fear is about 8 hours East from me, on t'other side of the Smoky Mountains. The accent is pretty much the same, although some terms differ, and Di Niro did a fair to middlin' job with it. It's a hard accent to mimic accurately, I think, in part due to the fact that it's more than just an accent, it's an entire dictionary of words and phrases combined with the accent that gives it authenticity. Even if the drawl is not there, we can still tell you ain't from 'round here just by the words used. lol.
Thank you so much for your reply, @cryptogee, but I must go now and fetch me a wrap cause I reckon it's going to be a might airish tonight, what with Fall comin' on an whatnot. :)
Peace

Awesome, "a might airish" what a great expression! I'm just imagining sitting down with you on a cliched porch, sippin shine, and shootin the breeze :-)

That's interesting that you say that Di Niro did a fair to middling job, I've always wondered about how good it is; as I love to mimic and recite those lines over and over :-)

Thanks for the link earlier and y'all come back now y'hear!

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62