Concept of the Day: Body

in #etymology6 years ago

Unmarked.png

Bodies are such a wonderful thing, once you learn to see past the mirror, past comparisons, and past shame.

Depending on the religious tradition you follow, you might have been taught to tame it and keep it out of the way (christianity, buddhism) or to worship and respect it (paganism).

Today, at this point we stand, we should at least love it, like you love a puppy or your favorite cushioned pillow. Your body is after all your vessel, and a part of your indivisible self until the day you pass onto another state.

There is nothing etymologically interesting about this word. Just like ’I’, the word Body and the word Cuerpo mean the trunk of a person’s material frame, the core of its structure. Depending of your tendency, your core might be your mind, or your creative impulse, or your feelings. But independently of which star rules your actions, you need your body to make them become realities.

We all have favorite parts in our bodies, and some parts we like a little less. We look away from them when we check ourselves out in the bathroom mirror. Try not to. That part is also you. Love it like you love the stain in your cushiony pillow, and like you love bathing your puppy even if it’s a nuisance.

I’d like to share with my fellow steemians two videos of the ballsiest women I know, at least in the world of music. I read a phrase not long ago that said “The women who have changed the world have only had to bare their minds to do so”. It referred to female protesters walking naked on the streets. I will not judge them. But when I think of balsy nakedness, I think of these two:

Annicke from Witchpop Band Shireen

This thing she does, I've always wanted to do. Women of all ages have painted themselves. It is a mistake to think that we do it to attract men. We do it to express ourselves.

Amanda (F*cking) Palmer

The best thing about her is her unique style born out of sheer stubborness.

I love powerful women. And what makes them powerful is not her naked body, but her body, naked, unprotected, there in the open for all of us to see, flawed just like the rest of us.

So please, eat what you like, exercise if you like to. Don't be fooled by those who think they can tell you what to do because they know best.

Your body, your core, your responsibility, your choice.

Thanks for reading. Enjoy the music!

Sort:  

Interesting performance in the dark with the glowing colors. Thank you for showing it.

I had a friend of mine who wanted to oppose her definition of beauty on me several times. I got the certain looks and comments from her. The thing is, it hurt me. Which shouldn't be the case, because if it hurts me I still want to live and be seen by the standard given.

It's a long way to inner freedom. ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58630.84
ETH 2465.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38