Dual mining in Ethos os. Setup and thought.

in #ethos6 years ago (edited)

I have been experimenting dual mining with my 6 GPU rig. As I searched for information followed buy my curiosity I found that most of miners thinks dual mining is profitable.
So hands on:

Pascal dual mining (Ethos 1.2.4 and newer ver)
First open a Pascal wallet: http://www.pascalcoin.org/#wallets.
After all is done and synchronized, configur your local.conf:
I mine with Nvidia GTX1060, so all Overclocking setting is individual for my rig.

globalminer claymore
maxgputemp 75
stratumproxy enabled
proxywallet YOUR ETHERIUM WALLET
proxypool1 pool-eu.ethosdistro.com:5001
proxypool2 pool-usa.ethosdistro.com:5001
flags --cl-global-work 8192 --farm-recheck 200
globalcore 1700
globalmem 4600
globalfan 70
globalpowertune 100
autoreboot 1
dualminer enabled
dualminer-coin pascal
dualminer-pool pasc-eu1.nanopool.org:15555
dualminer-wallet YOUR PASCAL WALLET

Thats all.

In Nanopool (as my setting pointed), you can have in wallet address:
your wallet.your rig name/your mail

Decred dual mining (Ethos 1.2.4 and newer ver)

You have to open a wallet: https://www.decred.org/ . The wallet in not enough and you need an account for the wallet.
You can buy an account for your Decred wallet or you can mine and after you will have enough Decred the pool will create one for you.

Ethos configuration:
(This configuration is for Nanopool Ether mining and Supernova Decred mining)

globalminer claymore
maxgputemp 75
stratumproxy enabled
proxywallet YOUR ETHERIUM WALLET
proxypool1 pool-eu.ethosdistro.com:5001
proxypool2 pool-usa.ethosdistro.com:5001
flags --cl-global-work 8192 --farm-recheck 200
globalcore 1700
globalmem 4600
globalfan 70
globalpowertune 110
autoreboot 1
dualminer enabled
dualminer-coin decred
dualminer-pool stratum+tcp://dcr.suprnova.cc:3252
dualminer-wallet YOUR SUPERNOVA USERNAME

I personally Prefer Nanopool, it is only me. But Nanopool don't has a Decred pool. So I set a Supernova account. Your user name in Supernova is you "wallet".

While I made My testing the Sia coin was too low so for now i don't have the configuration for Sia.

My conclusions

Pro:

  • More coins you can get.
  • You split your risk.
  • It is more interesting.
  • You make more money (not a significant difference).

Con:

  • It consume more Electricity.
  • you have to pay 2% fee for Claymore.
  • Your cards work harder.
  • You loose some hash power in Ether mining
  • In Claymore the miner stop mining and start mining for the writer wallet for 2% ot the mining time (or 1% in one coin mining). I don't like those mining switch.

For me after calculating the power consumption and fee that added, I decided to stick with Ether. In it price for now I don't want to loose any hash power for other coins.

Have a good mining!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hezi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @hezi! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50