You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's in it for me?

in #ethics4 years ago

As long as I've been here they've never really gotten it that for a platform to be successful you need people to engage on it. I can see people downvoting a comment but to flag a post and then have the ability to run over and flag everything someone's done in the last seven days isn't working. It's pure censorship. Plain and simply. Until they remove that ability and the inability to flag a post that isn't violating platform rules Steemit will continue to sink as the years ago by in participation.

Honestly I can't even really tell if the people who use to be here actually left the platform or not as the tendency for most is to run multiple sock accounts so as soon as they want to power down one they have another up and ready to go. It's a self serving system whereas a person could literally just post and respond to themselves all day long, they don't need anybody else's participation. I don't even think we could actually separate the tribe trail curation's into each being individually owned, half a dozen or so tight knit individuals each with a few socks and who needs outsiders to make them successful? It may be great to sustain themselves in the time being but for the long term sustainability of the platform I am not so sure.

Sort:  

I agree that they should replace downvoting with dislikes which is what YouTube and Reddit has.

What would you think about a proposal like, I don't know, maybe, if you don't make a post in 31 days, you can't upvote or downvote anything (and your automatic newb delegation gets yanked)?

You mean whoever gave that to me hasn't yanked it yet over commenting on this post?....I'll have to go look to see how amazed I should be. Not that I want to sound unappreciative of someone's good natured attempt at making me a minnow but I didn't ask them to do that for me. I don't think being a minnow made me worth anymore weight vote wise but I am not one to discount someone had a small bit of faith in me being here, that in itself was worth more than being a minnow. As far as your other concerns I am a blogger as such in most sites I participate in the upvote don't really count for much than an affirmation of what was said, given that I can do the same thing in a comment. Through my history as a blogger I have only downvoted one comment and that was due to an initial reaction that I took as child abuse in a meme. I am only trying to offer insight that can be, if wanted, taken into consideration and discussion as the sight moves forward in hopes you understand how people feel and can be driven to react to certain events. I'll carry on regardless of what is chosen to do as that is who I am. I've been struck down many a times in my life over my frankness, it's cost me so it won't be a first to happen here.

You can view your delegations here, https://steemworld.org/@sunlit7 (just click the "delegations" button on the left)

Make no mistake about it I was humbled by that action. Moving forward I really do though have to feel free to just be me, I live and adjust to the circumstances that entails sometimes, whether for the good or the bad.

Nobody's making any demands. Just think of it as an alternative way of upvoting (that can't be taken away by anyone but the person who awarded it).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68