You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ...it is you who choose not to believe God

in #ethics5 years ago

I have to disagree.
One (usually most folks) can "choose" to ignore Truth, so that they don't have to adhere to Logos. They are then free to 'believe' a comfortable lie, by choice.
Cognitive Dissonance usually being the culprit...with obfuscation being a close 2nd....but that's just my opinion as to the magnitude/culprit.

So I guess, I would have to force myself to realize, whether or not Cognitive Dissonance, can be considered, Will...

Thanks for the thoughts sir!

Sort:  

Can you "choose" to believe in space-aliens?

Don't you think that people who DO believe in space-aliens have been CONVINCED by either their own personal experience or by the testimony of what they consider credible witnesses?

And people who DON'T believe in space-aliens are simply NOT CONVINCED?

What I am saying is that cognitive dissonance will allow the 'believer' to believe in lies. Since they Choose to ignore the Truth, then they chose to Believe, instead of Know.

"Vaccines are dangerous, here is the evidence"
"No, I don't believe it, I BELIEVE my Doctor."
Did they choose to Believe, by choosing to Disbelieve?

Good point. People can seem to "choose" to believe a "trusted-source" BUT ONLY if they are first convinced that their "trusted-source" (genius, prophet, priest) is more reliable than their own judgement.

This is the root of the problem.

You should never trust (or distrust) any person or book 100%.

ACK. I AGREE! Oh no what will I do. Must find....something.....to argue...

Good stuff thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60961.08
ETH 2363.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52