You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Ethics- Unintended consequences and efforts towards deescalation

in #ethics7 years ago

Overall, I agree.

In actuality, there's getting to be some real nastiness wherein lawyers are finding ways to be profitable. Go figure.

And technically there's a greater risk of reputation damage to the blogger.

If I see someone going around randomly lifting photos, I'm automatically assuming they also lift text. I also assume they aren't spending a great deal of time being original.

And, companies are getting tired of doing dmca paperwork. I saw one that was willing to shut me down without research if they got a complaint. I kept moving. Some protections actually create the opportunity for abuse.

So it's not really just about lawsuits. It's also about preserving reputation and protecting one's own IP from takedown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59