Sort:  

I think it may seem more or less incoherent almost solely based on how a person feels the day. Personally I like the idea of nihilism, it is comforting, it is a good baseline which I think flirts a bit with stoicism in attitude but does not have that irritating "appreciate" aspect.

"There is no justification for life, but also no reason not to live. Those who claim to find meaning in their lives are either dishonest or deluded. In either case, they fail to face up to the harsh reality of the human situations" https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Existential_nihilism

The only issue I have with that quote is what is "meaning", seems a bit like a Witch trial where you must admit to delusion or dishonesty. Then even if I admit or am that and do not know, it just does not matter at all. I breathe because I always have.

Took a moment to respond while at work, I will read and watch the rest soon I get a focus gap. Just wanted to comment to thank you for the delegation. I must ask that you remove it though as I have more than enough RC, and I don't wish to be indebted. I am very sporadic in how I engage on the platforms so I would rather not feel indebted to comment, vote or resteem posts. Same goes for your voting sprees. :)

Excellent analysis.

The only issue I have with that quote is what is "meaning", seems a bit like a Witch trial where you must admit to delusion or dishonesty. Then even if I admit or am that and do not know, it just does not matter at all. I breathe because I always have.

REAL-TRUE-FACTS are Quantifiable, rigorously defined, scientifically verifiable and or logically necessary (like NOUMENON) - AND TECHNICALLY AND EMOTIONALLY MEANINGLESS.

Unfalsifiable Qualitative, experiential, personal private, opinions and feelings are MEANINGFUL.

We are told from a very young age that our feelings don't matter.

This is a counter-factual statement (propaganda) that is used to culturally brainwash us.

MEANING = MOTIVE (E-MOTION).

Without e-motion (motive/meaning) the nihilist will not move, will not eat, and will most certainly die (unless they are "rescued" and placed on "life support").

I have delegated to you to show my appreciation (just like an upvote).

Please do not feel obligated in any way.

I know it can feel a little strange, but you owe me nothing at all.

I have rephrased that a bit through the years:
"We should not think that our feelings / opinions matter to others."

Right, sometimes they do and sometimes the don't, but it's certainly not automatic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58