Do you really, really believe in protecting FREESPEECH?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ethics5 years ago

Yes... but then who controls @ freezepeach... after all, I don't agree with healing every downvote either. I just want there to be risk or consequence for actions... consequence free actions have never been a good idea in any situation! It might work on an individual level... but it doesn't work for groups.

Well at this point it's "better than nothing", I'm just trying to "stop the bleeding" so to speak.

I've been trying to encourage people to delegate some small token support (1 steem-power) to freezepeach, which you can take back at any time, all of freezepeach's actions are 100% transparent so if they suddenly go rogue, it's simple enough to retract your support.

They currently only have about 4,000 steem-power, and they're competing with abusive accounts that have 12,000+ steem-power.

It seems like it would be nice to boost them up to 100,000 steem-power or more (like @ curangel), then we'd at least have someone to call on when we see accounts getting pounded into the dust for no good reason.

People keep telling me this is the "wild west", so we need to build our own "lone ranger" if we want anything vaguely resembling "justice".

SOURCE CONVO

ALSO, LOWERING THE MINIMUM PAYOUT TO 0.001 (would remove the financial incentive to downvote) AND FLATTENING THE CURATION REWARDS (NO MORE INCENTIVE BONUS FOR VOTING IN THE FIRST 5 MINUTES) WOULD GO A LONG WAY TO "FIXING" STEEMIT (are the band-wagon voters really "adding-value"?)

SOURCE CONVO

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

Copyright notice: Feel free to copy and paste any LOGICZOMBIE original content (posts and or comments and or replies and logiczombie logo, excluding quoted 3rd party content of course) according to copyleft principles. copyleft wiki

Use the tag #LOGICZOMBIE if you'd like to participate in a civil debate or have your post critiqued for logical coherence.

Essential sites for (new) steemit users

Protesting without dialogue (with the sole intent to silence opposition) is harassment, not free speech.

I'm not a fan of ad hominem attacks, but I'm even less of a fan of censorship and retaliation.

Ad hominem attacks and air-horning your opponent are the tactics of FASCISM (dismantles open dialogue and civil debate).

Perhaps anarchy already exists and government is merely the highest manifestation of organized crime. – @thoughts-in-time

logiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpglogiczombie_0007.jpg
ZOMBIEBASICTRAINING

+proHUMAN +proFAMILY

Your scathing critique is requested.

Sort:  

Go here, https://steemworld.org/@joeyarnoldvn

Then click "delegations" on the left, then "outgoing" at the top, then click the "x" next to the delegation you'd like to cancel.

Is it not possible to undelegate via Steemit or other websites? Is there a way to know if you are currently delegating like maybe Steemd.com and is delegation forever or temporary? Around the summer of 2019, I made three additional Steem accounts, @oatmealenglish, @oatmealhealth, and @oatmealjoey, and delegated SP to them. In my Steemit wallet, I think I was able to see the delegation because it said -20 or minus a certain amount of SP as to say it was being delegated to my other accounts. Last time I checked, I thought I saw no delegation like I saw before. So, I have a feeling that the delegation expired. I will need to look around to confirm this theory of mine.

Delegations don't expire, but you can cancel them or modify the amount at any time.


IMAGE SOURCE

I wonder why there are only two accounts on that list and not three.

I wonder why there
Are only two accounts on
That list and not three.

                 - joeyarnoldvn


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

There's always some semblance of comfort in that last line of your post, always makes want to find something to scathe about....lol. It's almost like yes!, yes! someone who doesn't mind an opposing opinion.

I agree with freezepeach initiative, they came along and cleaned up one of my articles once that got downvoted. For the most part I agree that people should have a right to say whatever is on their minds, especially in a forum who trots that it is a censorship free platform. The only hard part I have is that less than one percent whom though I agree has a right to say what they are saying but I wouldn't support what they are saying. I think when promoting freezespeech there should be a disclaimer that the views reflected in posts aren't necessarily the views held by those supporting freezespeech that just the right to express those views are....or something along those similar lines. A lot of people lack compression and couldn't distinguish the difference on their own if their life depended upon it. Next thing you know just because you supported freezespeech who upvoted some post on nazi sympathizers you are all of a sudden a nazi.

They came for the name-callers and I said nothing, because I'm not a name-caller.

They came for the Christians and I said nothing, because I'm not a Christian.

They came for the conspiracy theorists and I said nothing, because I'm not insane.

Then they came for the independently minded skeptics, and those types never stand up for anyone but themselves, so they were easy-pickins.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_they_came_

First they came ...
"First they came ..." is the poetic form of a prose post-war confession first made in German in 1946 by the German Lutheran pastor Martin Niemöller (1892–1984). It is about the cowardice of German intellectuals and certain clergy (including, by his own admission, Niemöller himself) following the Nazis' rise to power and subsequent incremental purging of their chosen targets, group after group. Many variations and adaptations in the spirit of the original have been published in the English language. It deals with themes of persecution, guilt, repentance, and responsibility.

There's always some semblance of comfort in that last line of your post, always makes want to find something to scathe about....lol. It's almost like yes!, yes! someone who doesn't mind an opposing opinion.

I celebrate criticism.

People who surround themselves with sycophants (echo-chamber-bubble-heads) are never going to find the best ideas.

And of course, I rely heavily on this famous quote,

I Disapprove of What You Say, But I Will Defend to the Death Your Right to Say It

I don't know what the process is to delegate steem, being the request is for one wouldn't it be easier just to donate them one or is there some reason that's better to delegate.

Just go here, https://steemworld.org/@sunlit7

Click "delegate" on the left, then "delegate..." at the top right.

Enter the @ username and the amount you'd like to delegate, then it will ask for your "active key" to authorize.

Delegation is superior because it shows your support and because you can adjust it, or retract it at any time, so it's a little less "scammy". I also like it because it serves as a list of accounts I'm interested in. The "followed by" and "following" lists get a bit unwieldy, but the "outgoing delegations" can be tweaked at any time and lets me show support with something other than my fractional (practically meaningless) upvotes.

Also, I like how you can hover over the names and it shows their stats and how much steem-power they currently have.

I see something that says delegation history....is that what you are talking about?

I give, what's the secret? lol. I've clicked everything and fail to have the same results you found.

Screenshot (13).png

That same page lets you easily view new followers and track mentions!

Next thing you know just because you supported freezespeech who upvoted some post on nazi sympathizers you are all of a sudden a nazi.

Just like people who think that just because you mentioned something that sounded vaguely positive about bi.tcoin, that makes you some sort of hacker-ransomware-pirate!

Congratulations @logiczombie! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 6250 replies. Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59