You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ETHICAL EGOISM

in #ethics5 years ago

Free FREE Will:

Which of these allows for the most amount of freewill? I think that might be ethical egoism. Well, ultimately it comes down to the individual, that is where they might be. Because some people may feel like they are stuck within psychological egoism, like a mental prison. I probably should study some of these more. I guess I didn't know that utilitarianism is objective. That is interesting.

Objectivity vs Subjectivity

I believe in objectivity. I believe that people are generally stuck within subjectivity to some extent. But that doesn't mean objectivity is not out there. The X-Files Truth is out there. Humans need help. We have to ask for help. We should grow in character development. When we don't, then emotionalism takes over. Our animal nature begins to devolve us towards egoism, towards selfishness, towards indulging in instant gratification, etc. Right and wrong exists.

Clear as Mud

But our understanding of morality can be limited at times. But that doesn't mean that relativity is then therefore absolute. I believe in God. But I also know that there might be no god. So, I'm going to believe in God. People can call me crazy for believing in an imaginary creator. That is fine. I believe in the value of letting people believe what they want to believe, good or bad, as long as they're not actively and directly violating the private property rights of other people too excessively. So, that is what judges are for, for settling cases, conflicts, battles, in a court of law.

Sort:  

I guess I didn't know that utilitarianism is objective.

I'm pretty sure it's not objective. Even though that's how it's described in the article.

Well, that's good. I thought I was losing my mind or something. I try to have an open mind. I saw it and I was surprised.

I believe in objectivity.

Are you familiar with the NOUMENON?

No. Let me Google it. Wait, Duck Duck Go it. So, Noumenon is like a contrast to Phenomenon which is directly observable. Noumenon is indirectly inferred and involves like intellectual perception that is like engineered in the mind as opposed to simply observed through the general five senses of seeing, hearing, smelling, tasting, feeling, touching, sensing.

In a strictly textbook sense, NOUMENON is the only "thing" that can be accurately described as "objective".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44