You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's in it for me?

in #ethics4 years ago

I have no clue how people can have access to so many phone numbers to generate so many Steemit funded accounts.

You gave starworld a space free from flags, which must be huge in his situation. He got flagged again with his second post and I am quite sure even he could have predicted the outcome.

Although I did learn that "libel" seems to = ad hominem attack.

lol yes it does seem to have a rather special definition here on Steemit

Sort:  

I have no clue how people can have access to so many phone numbers to generate so many Steemit funded accounts.

A lot of these steemians are highly technical and have access to some pretty serious hardware.

Just off the top of my head, I can imagine creating 10,000 gm.ail accounts and 10,000 go.oglevoice phone numbers to match. With the right software (or scripting skillz) this seems like it would be pretty easy.

And even if you couldn't script it, you could hire a click-farm (sweat-shop) in some third-world country to do it for you for a few hundred dollars.

Wow i did not imagine it would be that easy. I was thinking one would need to be a bit more connected to the powers that be than that. Shows how much I don't know.
Opps my ignorance is showing again.
I liked the clip but not quite sure about the relevance, never mind.

I only learned about the click-farm thing a few months ago while I was burning through Mike Judge's amazing HBO series "Silicon Valley".

Click to watch 3 minutes,

Haha I loved this clip so much so watched another 4 back to back.

And that dust sweeper sounds interesting If it works I will use it myself

Dustsweeper works. You send them some amount, (I sent 10 steem) and then if somebody upvotes your posts or comments with a below-minimum payout vote, dustsweeper will use your credit to make up the difference so you don't lose the fractional upvote to the magical-magnificent-rewards-pool.

That's the clip I think of whenever somebody talks about revealing their identity online.

The primary use-case for steem (crypto) is anonymity. I should be able to send and or receive value-tokens to and or from anyone anywhere at any time without having to beg a "gatekeeper" for permission.

The moment you start trying to tie accounts to some sort of immutable identity, you only enslave the poor. The big-fish can create as many "real-world-identities" as they wish.

The real joke here is that most people think the BANKS are "protecting" them.

Do your IRL friends have your credit card numbers and a copy of your government issued id card?

No? Why not? Don't you "trust" them? Why would you give that information to a CORPORATION?

Do you really think they need that information to "protect" you?

It's a sad state of affairs when individuals trust CORPORATIONS more than their own friends and family members.

The primary use-case for steem (crypto) is anonymity.

Now you have said it so succinctly my mind immediately jumps to scenarios where anonymity would be of vital importance. Especially during turbulent times such as the world is experiencing now.

The thing that has my attention right now is they are not new thoughts to me. I wonder how that happens.

When wikileaks got frozen out by pa.ypal, v.isa, and ma.stercard, that was the moment I realized how fiat makes you a slave.

Transfer your $30,000.00 account to another bank? No problem!!

Cash out your $30,000.00 account to actual cash? Your funds are frozen for 30 days while your "super-friendly" bank calls the FBI.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65915.92
ETH 3486.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67