Discussion Considering Other Perspectives

in #ethics7 years ago

Ethical Question:
Is killing/lethal Force Ethically Wrong From New Recruit Perspective joining The Military?

Growing up in my life I was raised in a way such a way that my morals, principles, and ethics are of a variety perspectives some based on religion and some based on different cultures such as Belizean, African, and Old American culture. Even though I don't subscribe to particular religion some of the base fundamentals ethical judgements or assumptions can be attributed to religion in fact I went to both a Catholic, and Christian middle school. After high school I observed that even though I went to different schools of thought growing up, but it was not until a couple years
after graduation of high school I realized the different denominations in the various schools of thought and religion.

I have faced many different situations that challenged my ethical judgements such as a time joining the military or not, because it may require the use of lethal force killing someone and I was on the fence on that ethical judgment based on my ethical upbringing. So I spoke with my grandfather that was a korean, and Vietnam war veteran plus he was a Pastor so we talked about the situations that may occur which would call for the use of lethal force. My grandfather and I argued for about couple hours for the simple fact I felt it a person was a hypocrite following religion and serving in the military knowing that killing someone has a strong chance of happening if deployed pus how can someone have a conscious after killing someone. The Bible, and even Buddhism it talks about karma, and not killing someone which is some of my ethical fundamental foundation. My grandfather and I went to the bible, and started showing me some scriptures on war in the and how for the tribe of Israel to survive and do as God commands to keep sort of like an oath with God if you will. My grandfather interpretation kind of opened my view of the ethical judgment on killing my grandfather point was even if we feel some type about something sometimes feelings is not reality and we are to look out for the best interest for our country such as the United States also to think about the many lives we protect & defend by serving in the military. In addition, to my grandfather talking to me also learning about deontology theory from a military perspective I have grown more understanding and in agreement with some of the military ethics.

(Next, to broaden things a bit, do you think that it’s possible for us to progress and come to greater consensus on our ethical views, despite the way that modern society is often portrayed as increasingly in conflict?)

I feel as though it is not possible for us as a people in general to come to consensus on our ethical views for numerous reasons. First, even though people may have similar upbringing with similar ethical views that fact remain everyone is different with various interpretations of anything. Next, people in a particular nation, but because of diversity we as a people have many different culture that have ethical views that may drastically differ. Furthermore, as studying history in relation to both political and military science it has been a struggle with people ethical views so depending on the perspective some people may feel one thing is ethical while others may feel differently such as the elite/ruling class of people oppressing a select segment of people. Additionally, some people may say the 3-strikes law may be unethical while others feel it is just. Since everyone has an opinion we won't come to consensus of ethical views thus leadership, government, and so on that becomes a voice which politicians is suppose to do speak for the people noticeably majority rules while the minority have to endure the rule.

Reference:

1.) https://www.biblegateway.com

2.) Gilligan, C. (1982). In a different voice: Psychological theory and women’s development. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press. Retrieved from http://courseweb.stthomas.edu/sjlaumakis/Reading%204-GILLIGAN.pdf

3.) Held, V. (1990). Feminist Transformation of Moral Theory. Philosophy and Phenomenological Research Vol. 50, Supplement, pp. 321-34.

4.) Noddings, N. (2010). The maternal factor: Two paths to morality [Electronic version]. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press. Retrieved from http://www.ebrary.com/corp/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43