Ethics (3-Part Series): Summary/AnthologysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ethics7 years ago

enter image description here

This is an anthology/summary of my posts on ethics from a critical rationalist and Darwinian perspective.

In Science, Ethics, & Individual Sovereignty, part one of the series, I explain natural law theory and the somewhat justified reasons for the modern rebellion against natural law theory. I then go on to attempt to redeem natural law theory. I explain how natural law theory actually logically follows from Darwinian theory, and explain how Darwinian natural law theory can actually give us a universally applicable and "objective" morality that is firmly rooted in science. I then go on to demolish the supposed is/ought dichotomy and show how marginalist theory in economics can give us insights into ethics. I then dive into the question of whether values is "subjective" or "objective." Finally, I go on to defend the anarchist notions of individual sovereignty (aka "self-ownership") and the principle of equal liberty using this scientific ethical framework.

In Ethics, Veganism, & Vagueries Like Voting, part two of the series, I recap part one of the series and then weigh in on the debate between various types of utilitarian theories of ethics. I then go into questions of diet and politics. I conclude by addressing the question of why people behave unethically if ethics is universal.

In Ethics, Dialectical Libertarianism, & Comprehensive Counterbalanced Democracy, part three of the series, I dive more into politics and analyze it from the perspective of this scientific theory of ethics. I defend dialectical libertarianism or left-libertarianism. I then go on to propose comprehensive counterbalanced democracy, a theory about checks and balances within democratic systems. I propose that the checks to power within the system ought also to be democratic, so that different sorts of democracy should check other democratic powers.

Sort:  

Good information @ekklesiagora

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65