You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPINION =/= FACT

in #ethics5 years ago

The real problem i get to is (in my analogy)

i say, "My measuring device shows this."

And their reply is, "well that's a nice theory, what about these other theories?"
Or
"I am appalled by the way you are stating a theory as a fact."
Or
"Science has disproven that ages ago."

Sort:  

It sounds to me like you're speaking to someone who doesn't understand the difference between a hypothesis (an unqualified opinion) and a theory (a reliable coherent peer-reviewed model).

Saying "my special meter shows this" is similar to someone saying "my special book says this".

You have to build a case (on common-ground) that doesn't include your meter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58656.89
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48