There is no ethical consumption under Capitalism.

in #ethical2 years ago

image.png

There are lots of films I don't watch. Lots of games I don't play. Lots of companies I don't actively support. But i drink Coke, linked to the murder of multiple union organisers in Latin America., I eat KitKats, linked to baby killing milk in Africa. I eat meat. I don't drive, but I ride about in cars and trains and planes, and my annual carbon footprint - because I commute - is far higher than it would be if my corpse was composted instead.

I use a second hand phone. I have never bought a new phone because small children mine for rare earths, but I eat chocolate from cocoa that small children harvest.

We all make choices. Nearly all those choices negatively impact others.

I won't judge you.

But I would judge myself.

At the end of the day that's the secret of political correctness. Nobody can - or should - make you change your nature.

But not doing a thing that makes another person uncomfortable isn't 'changing your nature'.

It's acting in accordance with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43