Will my computer be able to mine Bitcoins or Ethereum?

in #etheruem7 years ago (edited)

I have an HP Pavilion hpe ,AMD computer from around 2010 and it uses window 7.

It is very slow due to it being old.

A few days ago, I tested if I could mine Ethereum and unfortunately it didn't work.

So my question is

Will it work If I only upgrade the graphics card?

Or should I buy a new computer?

Sort:  

If it's very slow, it's pretty much no good for mining. You can try, but you'll just use more money for electricity than you'll get out from it.

If your computer is slow and it's processor is old, you won't get any use of upgraded graphics card, as the processor is still needed when using the graphics card.

Get a new computer, even a used one but not that old.

Ok, Thank you.

I wouldn't recommend it. The energy costs will be more than the coins mined.

No Man upgrading your gpu will consume so much energy it is hard to afford you will be in loss

Thanks for your advice.

Yes any kind of coin will be not profitable to mine without a monstrous installation at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42